List of Chief Ministers of Assam (1937-2023): First Female CM of Assam, First Chief Minister of Assam

Sir Syed Muhammad Saadullah was the first chief minister of  Assam served from 1st April 1937 to 19th September 1938. Anwara Taimur was the first female chief minister of  Assam. Let’s uncover the list of all chief ministers of  Assam starting from 1937 to 2023.

Himanta Biswa Sarma took the oath as the Chief Minister of  Assam for the 15th Assembly (2021-25) on May 10, 2021, We are listing below all chief ministers of  Assam starting from 1937 to 2023.

List of Chief Ministers of Assam (1937-2023)

Check below the list of all Assam chief minister name for the period 1937-2023:

SL. No Name of CM Period  Party 
1. Sir Syed Muhammad Saadullah 1 April 1937 to19 September 1938 Assam United Muslim Party


2. Gopinath Bordoloi 19 September 1938 to 17 November 1939 Indian National Congress
3. Sir Syed Muhammad Saadullah 17 November 1939 to 24 December 1941 Assam United Muslim Party


4. Sir Syed Muhammad Saadullah 25 August 1942 to 11 February 1946 Assam United Muslim Party


5. Gopinath Bordoloi 11 February 1946 to 25 January 1950

26 January 1950 to 6 August 1950

Indian National Congress
6. Bishnuram Medhi 9 August 1950 to 27 December 1957 Indian National Congress
7. Bimala Prasad Chaliha 28 December 1957 to 6 November 1970 Indian National Congress
8. Mahendra Mohan Choudhry 11 November 1970 to 30 January 1972 Indian National Congress
9. Sarat Chandra Singha 31 January 1972 to 12 March 1978 Indian National Congress
10. Golap Borbora 12 March 1978 to 4 September 1979 Janata Party
11. Jogendra Nath Hazarika 9 September 1979 to 11 December 1979 Janata Party
12. Syeda Anwara Taimur 6 December 1980 to 30 June 1981 Indian National


13. Kesab Chandra Gogoi 13 January 1982 to 19 March 1982 Indian National Congress
14. Hiteswar Saikia 27 February 1983 to 23 December 1985 Indian National


15. Prafulla Kumar Mahanta 24 December 1985 to 28 November 1990 Asom Gana


16. Hiteswar Saikia 30 June 1991 to 22 April 1996 Indian National


17. Bhumidhar Barman 22 April 1996 to 14 May 1996 Indian National


18. Prafulla Kumar Mahanta 15 May 1996 to 17 May 2001 Asom Gana


19. Tarun Gogoi 18 May 2001 to 24 May 2016 Indian National


20. Sarbananda Sonowal 24 May 2016 to 10 May 2021 Bharatiya Janata Party
21. Himanta Biswa Sarma 10 May 2021 to —- Bharatiya Janata Party

*We have prepared the table of Chief Ministers of  Assam with utmost care. If we have committed certain mistakes then let us know through the comment box below. We’ll verify and update it no time. 

GK Questions on Chief Ministers of  Assam

Question 1: Who was the first chief minister of Assam? 

Answer: Sir Syed Muhammad Saadullah

Question 2: Who was the first female chief minister of  Assam?

Answer: Anwara Taimur

Question 3: Who is current chief minister of  Assam?

Answer: Himanta Biswa Sarma from BJP

Question 4: How many members are there in  Assam Legislative Assembly?

Answer: 126

Question 5: Who is the speaker of  Assam Legislative Assembly?

Answer: Shri Biswajit Daimary, BJP

Question 6: Who is the Governor of  Assam?

Answer: Gulab Chand Kataria from 15th Feb

Current Cabinet Ministers of Assam

Himanta Biswa Sarma
Chief Minister
Chief Minister of Assam, Home, Personnel, Public Works Department (PWD) & any other Department not allotted to any other Minister.
Ranjeet Kumar Dass Panchayat & Rural Development, Food & Civil Supplies, Consumer Affairs, General Administration, and Judicial
Atul Bora Agriculture, Horticulture, Animal Husbandry & Veterinary, Border Area Development, Implementation of Assam Accord, Cooperation.
Urkhao Gwra Brahma Handloom & Textile, Soil Conservation, Welfare of Bodoland
Parimal Suklabaidya Transport, Fisheries, Excise.
Chandra Mohan Patowary Environment & Forest, Act East Policy Affairs, Welfare of Minorities
Keshab Mahanta Health & Family Welfare, Medical education & Research, Science & Technology, Information Technology.
Ranoj Pegu Education, Welfare of Plain Tribe & Backward Classes (non-BTC).
Sanjoy Kishan Welfare of Tea Tribes, Labour & Employment.
Jogen Mohan Revenue & Disaster Management, Hills Area Development
Ajanta Neog Finance, Woman & Child development
Ashok Singhal Guwahati Development, Urban Development, Irrigation.
Pijush Hazarika Water Resources, Information & Public Relations, Parliamentary Affairs, Social Justice & Empowerment
Bimal Bora Industries & Commerce and Public Enterprice, Sports & Youth Welfare, Cultural Affairs, Tourism
Nandita Gorlosa Power, Cooperation, Mineral & Mines, Indigenous & Tribal Faith and Culture

If you find some sort of errors in this article then please share it through the comment box below. It will help us to maintain accuracy. You can also ask your concern(s), if any, we are here to assist you. 

Spread the Knowledge
Categories GK

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!