List of Chief Ministers of Manipur (1963-2022)- First Chief Minister of Manipur

Spread the Knowledge

 Mairembam Koireng Singh was the first chief minister of Manipur served from 1st July 1963 to 11th January 1967. Let’s uncover the list of all chief ministers of Manipur starting from 1963 to 2022.

Nongthombam Biren Singh took the oath as the Chief Minister of Manipur for the 15th Assembly (2017-22) on March 15, 2017, while Yumnam Joykumar Singh sworn-in as the Deputy Chief Ministers of Manipur. We are listing below all chief ministers of Manipur starting from 1963 to 2022.

List of Chief Ministers of Manipur (1963-2022)

Check below the list of all CM of Manipur for the period 1963-2022:

SL. No Name of CM Period Party
1. Mairembam Koireng Singh 1 July 1963 to 11 January 1967 Indian National Congress
20 March 1967 to 4 October 1967 Indian National Congress
2. Longjam Thambou Singh 13 October 1967 to 24 October 1967 Manipur United Front
3. Mairembam Koireng Singh 19 February 1968 to 16 October 1969 Indian National Congress
4. Mohammed Alimuddin 23 March 1972 to 27 March 1973 Manipur Peoples Party
4 March 1974 to 9 July 1974 Manipur Peoples Party
5. Yangmasho Shaiza 10 July 1974 to 5 December 1974 Manipur Hills Union
6. Raj Kumar Dorendra Singh 6 December 1974 to 15 May 1977 Indian National Congress
7. Yangmasho Shaiza 29 June 1977 to 13 November 1979 Janata Party
8. Raj Kumar Dorendra Singh 14 January 1980 to 26 November 1980 Indian National Congress
9. Rishang Keishing 27 November 1980 to 27 February 1981 Indian National Congress
19 June 1981 to 3 March 1988 Indian National Congress
10. Raj Kumar Jaichandra Singh 4 March 1988 to 22 February 1990 Indian National Congress
11. Raj Kumar Ranbir Singh 23 February 1990 to 6 January 1992 Manipur Peoples Party
12. Raj Kumar Dorendra Singh 8 April 1992 to 10 April 1993 Indian National Congress
13. Rishang Keishing 14 December 1994 to 15 December 1997 Indian National Congress
14. Wahengbam Nipamacha Singh 16 December 1997 to 14 February 2001 Manipur State Congress Party
15. Radhabinod Koijam 15 February 2001 to 1 June 2001 Samata Party
16. Okram Ibobi Singh 7 March 2002 to 1 March 2007 Indian National Congress
2 March 2007 to 5 March 2012 Indian National Congress
6 March 2012 to 14 March 2017 Indian National Congress
17. Nongthombam Biren Singh 15 March 2017 to Incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party

*We have prepared the table of Chief Ministers of Manipur with utmost care. If we have committed certain mistakes then let us know through the comment box below. We’ll verify and update it no time.

GK Questions on Chief Ministers of Manipur

Question 1: Who was the first chief minister of Manipur?

Answer: Mairembam Koireng Singh

Question 2: Who is current chief minister of Manipur?

Answer: Nongthombam Biren Singh from BJP

Question 3: How many members are there in Manipur Legislative Assembly?

Answer: 60

Question 4: Who is the speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly?

Answer: Y. Khemchand Singh, BJP

Question 5: Who is the Governor of Manipur?

Answer: Najma Heptulla

Current Cabinet Ministers of Manipur

Shri Nongthombam Biren Singh, Chief Minister  Home, Personnel, Planning, GAD, Vigilance, Transport, Minor Irrigation, Sericulture, Tourism, Minority & OBC, Information Technology and any other department not allocated specifically.
Shri Yumnam Joykumar Singh, Deputy Chief Minister Finance, Excise, Taxation, Science & Technology, Economics & Statistics, Civil Aviation.
Shri Th. Biswajit Singh, Cabinet Minister Public Works Department, Rural Development &Panchayati Raj, Commerce & Industries, Power, Administrative Reforms & Training, Information & Public Relations.
Shri L. Jayantakumar Singh, Cabinet Minister Health & Family Welfare, Law & Legislative Affairs, Arts &Culture, CADA.
Shri Karam Shyam, Cabinet Minister  CAF & PD, Weight & Measures, Revenue, Relief & Rehabilitation.
Shri Letpao Haokip Cabinet Minister Cabinet Minister  IFCD, YAS.
Shri N. Kayisii Cabinet Minister Tribal & Hill Areas Development, Fisheries.
Shri Th. Shyamkumar Cabinet Minister MAHUD, Town Planning, Forest & Environment, Horticulture & Soil Consevation.
Shri LosiiDikho Cabinet Minister PHED, Printing & Stationery.
Shri V. Hangkhanlian Cabinet Minister Agriculture, Veterinary & Animal Husbandry.
Smt. Nemcha Kipgen Cabinet Minister Social Welfare & Cooperation
Shri Thokchom Radheshyam Singh Cabinet Minister Education, Labour & Employment

If you find some sort of errors in this article then please share it through the comment box below. It will help us to maintain accuracy. You can also ask your concern(s), if any, we are here to assist you.

Spread the Knowledge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.