List of Chief Ministers of Mizoram (1972-2023)- First Chief Minister of Mizoram

Chhunga was the first chief minister of Mizoram served from 3rd May 1972 to 10th May 1977. Let’s uncover the list of all chief ministers of Mizoram starting from 1972 to 2023.

Zoramthanga took the oath as the Chief Minister of Mizoram for the 8th Assembly (2019-24) on  December 15, 2018, while Tawnluia sworn-in as the Deputy Chief Ministers of Mizoram. We are listing below all chief ministers of Mizoram starting from 1972 to 2023. Questions in Mizoram Gk Quiz are often asked from the chief minister section.  

List of Chief Ministers of Mizoram (1972-2023)

Check below the list of all CM of Mizoram for the period 1972-2023:

SL. No Name of CM Period Party
1. C. Chhunga 3 May 1972 to 10 May 1977 Mizo Union
2. T. Sailo 2 June 1978 to 10 November 1978 Mizo People’s Conference
8 May 1979 to 4 May 1984
3. Lal Thanhawla 5 May 1984 to 20 August 1986 Indian National Congress
4. Laldenga 21 August 1986 to 19 February 1987 Mizo National Front
20 February 1987 to 7 September 1988
5. Lal Thanhawla 24 January 1989 to 7 December 1993 Indian National Congress
8 December 1993 to 3 December 1998
6. Zoramthanga 3 December 1998 to 4 December 2003 Mizo National Front
4 December 2003 to 11 December 2008
7. Lal Thanhawla 11 December 2008 to 11 December 2013 Indian National Congress
12 December 2013 to 14 December 2018
8. Zoramthanga 15 December 2018 to Incumbent Mizo National Front

*We have prepared the table of Chief Ministers of Mizoram with utmost care. If we have committed certain mistakes then let us know through the comment box below. We’ll verify and update it no time.

GK Questions on Chief Ministers of Mizoram

Question 1: Who was the first chief minister of Mizoram?

Answer: C. Chhunga

Question 2: Who is current chief minister of Mizoram?

Answer: Zoramthanga from Kummanam Rajasekharan

Question 3: How many members are there in Mizoram Legislative Assembly?

Answer: 40

Question 4: Who is the speaker of Mizoram Legislative Assembly?

Answer: Lalrinliana Sailo, MNF

Question 5: Who is the Governor of Mizoram?

Answer: Kambhampati  Hari  Babu

Current Cabinet Ministers of Mizoram

 Pu Zoramthanga Chief Minister Finance Political & Cabinet Planning & Programme Implementation General Administration Department Secretariat Administration Department Vigilance Department Public Work Department Horticulture Department”
Pu Tawnluia Deputy Chief Minister Public Health Engineering Department Urban Development & Poverty Alleviation Department Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Personnel & Administrative Reforms”
Dr R Lalthangliana Cabinet Minister  Health & Family Welfare


Higher & Technical Education Commerce & Industry”

Pu Lalchamliana Cabinet Minister Home


Taxation Disaster Management & Rehabilitation”

Pu R Lalzirliana Cabinet Minister Power & Electricity


Arts & Culture Land Resources, Soil & Water Conservation District Council & Minority Affairs”

C Lalrinsanga Cabinet Minister Agriculture Dept.


Irrigation & Water Resources Co-operation Department”

Ministers of State

  • Pu K.Lalrinliana – Food, Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs, LAD, Fisheries
  • Pu Lalchhandama Ralte – School Education, Labour, Employment, Skill Development & Entrepreneurship, Printing & Stationery Department
  • Pu Lalruatkima – Rural Development, Information & Public Relation, Land Revenue & Settlement Department
  • Dr K Beichhua – Social Welfare, Excise & Narcotics, Sericulture department
  • Pu TJ. Lalnuntluanga – Law & Judicial, Parliamentary Affairs, Transport, Environment, Forest & Climate Change Department
  • Pu Robert Romawia Royte – Sports & Youth Services, Tourism, Information & Communication Technology

If you find some sort of errors in this article then please share it through the comment box below. It will help us to maintain accuracy. You can also ask your concern(s), if any, we are here to assist you.


Spread the Knowledge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *