List of Chief Ministers of Punjab (1947-2021)- First Female CM of Punjab, First Chief Minister of Punjab

Gopi Chand Bhargava was the first chief minister of Punjab served from 15th August 1947 to 13th April 1949. Rajinder Kaur Bhattal was the first female chief minister of Punjab. Let’s uncover the list of all chief ministers of Punjab starting from 1947 to 2021.

Charanjit Singh Channi took the oath as 16th Chief Minister of Punjab on 20 September 2021. We are listing below all chief ministers of Punjab starting from 1947 to 2021.

List of Chief Ministers of Punjab (1947-2021)

Check below the list of all CM of Punjab for the period 1947-2021:

SL. No Name of CM Period Party
1. Gopi Chand Bhargava 15 August 1947 to 13 April 1949 Indian National Congress
2. Bhim Sen Sachar 13 April 1949 to 18 October 1949 Indian National Congress
3. Gopi Chand Bhargava 18 October 1949 to 20 June 1951 Indian National Congress
4. Bhim Sen Sachar 17 April 1952 to 22 July 1953 Indian National Congress
22 July 1953 to 23 January 1956
5. Partap Singh Kairon 23 January 1956 to 9 April 1957 Indian National Congress
9 April 1957 to 11 March 1962
11 March 1962 to 21 June 1964
6. Gopi Chand Bhargava 21 June 1964 to 6 July 1964 Indian National Congress
7. Ram Kishan 7 July 1964 to 5 July 1966 Indian National Congress
8. Giani Gurmukh Singh Musafir 1 November 1966 to 8 March 1967 Indian National Congress
9. Gurnam Singh 8 March 1967 to 25 November 1967 Akali Dal – Sant Fateh Singh


10. Lachhman Singh Gill 25 November 1967 to 23 August 1968 Punjab Janta Party


11. Gurnam Singh 17 February 1969 to 27 March 1970 Shiromani Akali Dal


12. Parkash Singh Badal 27 March 1970 to 14 June 1971 Shiromani Akali Dal


13. Giani Zail Singh 17 March 1972 to 30 April 1977 Indian National Congress
14. Parkash Singh Badal 20 June 1977 to 17 February 1980 Shiromani Akali Dal


15. Darbara Singh 6 June 1980 to 6 October 1983 Indian National Congress (Indira
16. Surjit Singh Barnala 29 September 1985 to 11 June 1987 Shiromani Akali Dal
17. Beant Singh 25 February 1992 to 31 August 1995 Indian National Congress (Indira)
18. Harcharan Singh Brar 31 August 1995 to 21 November 1996 Indian National Congress (Indira)
19. Rajinder Kaur Bhattal 21 November 1996 to 11 February 1997 Indian National Congress (Indira)
20. Parkash Singh Badal 12 February 1997 to 26 February 2002 Shiromani Akali Dal


21. Amarinder Singh 26 February 2002 to 1 March 2007 Indian National Congress
22. Parkash Singh Badal 1 March 2007 to 14 March 2012 Shiromani Akali Dal


14 March 2012 to 16 March 2017
23. Amarinder Singh 16 March 2017 18th September 2021 Indian National Congress
24. Charanjit Singh Channi 20th September 2021 to Incumbent Indian National Congress

*We have prepared the table of Chief Ministers of Punjab with utmost care. If we have committed certain mistakes then let us know through the comment box below. We’ll verify and update it no time.

GK Questions on Chief Ministers of Punjab

Question 1: Who was the first chief minister of Punjab?

Answer: Gopi Chand Bhargava

Question 2: Who was the first female chief minister of Punjab?

Answer: Rajinder Kaur Bhattal

Question 3: Who is current chief minister of Punjab?

Answer: Charanjit Singh Channi from Indian National Congress

Question 4: How many members are there in Punjab Legislative Assembly?

Answer: 117

Question 5: Who is the speaker of Punjab Legislative Assembly?

Answer: Rana Kanwar Pal Singh, INC

Question 6: Who is the Governor of Punjab?

Answer: V. P. Singh Badnore

Current Cabinet Ministers of Punjab

Charanjit Singh Channi Chief Minister
Shri. Brahm Mohindra Local Government

Parliamentary Affairs


Removal of Grievances

Shri. Manpreet Singh Badal Finance


Programme Implementation

Shri. Om Parkash Soni Medical Education & Research

Freedom Fighters

Food Processing

Shri. Sadhu Singh Dharmsot Forests

Printing and Stationary

Welfare of SCs and BCs

Shri. Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa Rural Development and Panchayats

Animal Husbandry, Fisheries and Dairy Development

Higher Education

Rana Gurmeet Singh Sodhi Sports and Youth Affairs

NRI Affairs

Smt. Aruna Chaudhary Social Security

Women & Child Development

Smt. Razia Sultana Water Supply & Sanitation (Public Health)


Shri. Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa Cooperation


Shri. Sukhbinder Singh Sarkaria Water Resources

Mines & Geology

Housing and Urban Development

Shri. Gurpreet Singh Kangar Revenue, Rehabilitation and Disaster Management
Shri. Balbir Singh Sidhu Health and Family Welfare


Shri. Vijay Inder Singla School Education

Public Works

Shri. Sunder Sham Arora Industries & Commerce
Shri. Bharat Bhushan Ashu Food & Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs
Technical Education & Industrial Training

Employment Generation

Tourism and Cultural Affairs

If you find some sort of errors in this article then please share it through the comment box below. It will help us to maintain accuracy. You can also ask your concern(s), if any, we are here to assist you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *