How many Continents are there in the world (Also check List of Countries in Each Continent)

Europe, Asia, Africa, Oceania/Australia, North America, South America and Antarctica are the seven continents under the first continent system. There have been many revised continent system, some marking Europe-Asia as Eurasia, whereas in other Europe, Asia, Africa are combined to form Afro-Eurasia. Due to its uninhabitable environment, sometimes Antarctica is removed from the classification of continents. In this article, we will adopt the conventional system to present the list of continents in the world and their countries.

How many Continents are there in the world?

Before we proceed with the list of countries by their continents, let us learn some details about the continents first. These are 7 in total.

  1. Africa- Africa is both the second largest and second most-populous continent of the world after Asia. It is believed that humans first appeared in this continent itself.
  2. Asia- The world’s largest and most populous continent in the world is Asia. Its two most populous country China and India account for roughly 36% of the world’s population.
  3. Europe- Second smallest but third most populous continent on the Earth is Europe. It is also a very beautiful continent often regarded as the best place to live.
  4. Oceania/Australia- Australia is the smallest continent on the planet and is also known as Oceania. Oceania is actually a term that defines Australia, Polynesia, Melanesia, and other island nations in the surrounding area.
  5. North America- Some of the most developed nations including Unites States and Canada are a part of North American continent. It is the third largest and fourth most populous continent in the world.
  6. South America- South America, as the name suggests, is a continent south of the North America and is only separated by Panama canal.
  7. Antarctica-Antarctica is the southernmost continent on the Earth which comprises the South Pole and the Antarctic Circle. About 98% of the continent is covered by ice and no human life resides here.

Continents with Countries List

Now we proceed with the continents of the world and the countries that fall under these continents, starting with Africa.


There are a total of 57 countries falling within the borders of the African continent. The table  below presents the name of all those countries.

CameroonThe GambiaCape VerdeBurkina FasoDjibouti
ChadIvory CoastAngolaEritreaGuinea
BurundiEquatorial GuineaEthiopiaNigeriaSeychelles
RwandaSouth AfricaComorosSouth SudanSudan
Central African RepublicDemocratic Republic of the CongoWestern Sahara – El AaiúnSão Tomé and PríncipeRepublic of the Congo
Sierra LeoneRéunion   


With a total of 48 countries, Asia comes second after Africa. However, in terms of size and population, Asia tops other continents.

  • India
  • Malaysia
  • China
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Sri Lanka
  • Russia
  • Yemen
  • North Korea
  • Vietnam
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Thailand
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • East Timor
  • Georgia
  • Indonesia
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uzbekistan
  • Lebanon
  • The Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • South Korea
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Iran
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Palestine
  • The Philippine
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Armenia
  • Bahrain
  • Iraq
  • Azerbaijan
  • Israel
  • Kuwait
  • Singapore
  • Afghanistan


The following 48 countries are a part of the European continent. Due to lack of official border between Asia and Europe, many countries are disputed.

  1. France
  2. Italy
  3. United Kingdom
  4. Republic of Ireland
  5. Germany
  6. Hungary
  7. Portugal
  8. Spain
  9. Switzerland
  10. Austria
  11. Belgium
  12. Finland
  13. Czech Republic
  14. Denmark
  15. Belarus
  16. Albania
  17. Slovenia
  18. Cyprus
  19. Estonia
  20. Sweden
  21. Turkey
  22. Luxembourg
  23. North Macedonia
  24. Malta
  25. Ukraine
  26. Greece
  27. Lithuania
  28. Moldova
  29. Norway
  30. Russia
  31. Serbia
  32. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  33. Slovakia
  34. Vatican City
  35. Andorra
  36. Bulgaria
  37. Croatia
  38. Georgia
  39. Iceland
  40. Kosovo
  41. Liechtenstein
  42. Montenegro
  43. Netherlands
  44. Poland
  45. Romania
  46. San Marino
  47. Monaco
  48. Latvia


Next comes Australia, a very small continent with only 14 countries within its boundary. Historically, this continent was also called Australasia.

AustraliaNew Zealand
Marshall IslandsSamoa
Papua New GuineaVanuatu
Solomon IslandsNauru
Federated States of MicronesiaKiribati

North America

The Americas is sub-divided into two continents namely North and South America. There are 23 countries in north America while 16 in South America. Here are the North American countries.

Canada, Mexico, United States of America, Puerto Rico, Panama, Costa Rica, Greenland, Navassa Island, Dominica, Barbados, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Bahamas, El Salvador, Honduras, Belize, US Virgin Islands, Dominican Republic, Cuba, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Martinique

Also check World GK Questions and Answers

South America

Here are the 16 countries that form a part of South American continent.

Brazil, Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Falkland Islands, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela


Antarctica is a continent with no countries or human inhabitant and is often disputed if it is to be considered a continent or not.


Which is the largest continent in the world?


Which continent has the most countries?


Is Australia the smallest continent?


How many continents are there in the world?


Categories GK

Leave a Comment