Easy Guide to Learn Reading and Writing Months Name in Hindi

There are 12 months in a year and these are January, February, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November, and December. Hindi Names of months are चैत्र, वैशाख, ज्येष्ठ, आषाढ़, श्रावण, भाद्रपद, आश्विन, कार्तिक, मार्गशीर्ष, पौष, माघ, and फाल्गुन.

For our convenience, various calendars divide a year into several months. Each month has its unique name that is associated with the season and cultural events. A large number of people want to know Months name in Hindi. They should know that the most followed calendar in the world is the Gregorian calendar. The name of the months in the calendar remains the same in all languages.

Months Name in Hindi

However, the names of months in the Hindu calendar are quite different from the ones used in the Gregorian calendar. Go through this post to know all month name in Hindi in both Gregorian and Hindu calendar.

12 Months Name in Hindi as per Gregorian Calendar

As mentioned earlier, the names of months remain the same in the Gregorian calendar in both Hindi and English languages. Check out the details below.

Name of the monthHindi name of the monthNumber of days

Name of Months in Hindi according to Hindu Calendar

The names of the months are different in the Hindu Calendar. Let’s take a look at their names in Sanskrit and Hindi. We are also providing the time period of these months as per the Gregorian calendar so that you can understand which month we are talking about.

Name of months in SanskritHindi Names of monthsTime Period (Months) per Gregorian Calendar
चैत्र:चैत्रMarch – April
वैशाख:वैशाखApril – May
ज्येष्ठ:ज्येष्ठMay – June
आषाढ़:आषाढ़June – July
श्रावण:श्रावणJuly – August
भाद्रपद:भाद्रपदAugust – September
आश्विन:आश्विनSeptember – October
कार्तिक:कार्तिकOctober – November
मार्गशीर्ष:मार्गशीर्षNovember – December
पौष:पौषDecember – January
माघ:माघJanuary – February
फाल्गुन:फाल्गुनFebruary – March

Details of Each month in the Hindu Calendar

  1. Chaitra चैत्र – It is the first month of the Hindu Calendar. It marks the beginning of spring and new year.
  2. Vaishakha वैशाख – Vaishakha is the second month of the Hindu calendar. It is considered an auspicious month for Hindus because it is believed to be the birth month of Lord Vishnu.
  3. Jyeshtha ज्येष्ठ – The month of Jyeshtha is also known as the month of family. A large number of people perform rituals and ceremonies in Jyeshtha.
  4. Ashadha आषाढ़ –  Considered an auspicious month, Ashadha is associated with the monsoon season along with numerous other agricultural activities. Devotees observe the holy month of Devshayani Ekadashi and participate in religious ceremonies to honour Lord Vishnu.
  5. Shravana श्रावण – Shravana is dedicated to Lord Shiva. Devotees fast on Mondays, known as Shravana Somvar, and offer prayers for blessings and fulfilment of their wishes. The festival of Raksha Bandhan is also celebrated during this month.
  6. Bhadrapada भाद्रपद – This month is famous for the festival of Ganesh Chaturthi. The celebrations involve grand processions, the building of clay idols, and offering prayers.
  7. Ashwin आश्विन – Ashwin is a month of festivities with major Hindu festivals like Navratri and Diwali falling this month.  Additionally, Ashwin month is also associated with the harvest season.
  8. Karthik कार्तिक – Karthik is the eighth month of the Hindu calendar. It falls between October and November. It is considered a sacred month and is associated with Lord Kartikeya, the son of Lord Shiva.
  9. Margashirsha मार्गशीर्ष – Falling between November and December, Margashirsha is the ninth month of the Hindu Calendar. Worshipping lord Vishnu is considered auspicious in this month.
  10. Pausha पौष – The month of Pausha falls in peak winters. It involves the celebration of festivals like Pausha Putrada Ekadashi and Pausha Purnima. Additionally, this month is also known for the harvest festival of Makar Sankranti
  11. Magha माघ – The second last month of the year Magha, is dedicated to ancestors, where people perform rituals and offer prayers to honour their departed loved ones.
  12. Falgun फाल्गुन – Falgun is the last month of Hindu Calendar. The most important festival in this month is Holi. Devotees also observe the festival of Maha Shivaratri during this month and seek blessings from Lord Shiva.

Major Festivals in All Months in the Hindu Calendar

ChaitraGudi Parva, Chaitra Vishu, Ram Navami, Hanuman Jayanti and Ugadi
VaishakhaBaisakhi, and Vaisakhi Purnima
JyeshthaVat Poornima, and Snan Yatra
AshadhaGuru Poornima, and Shayani Ekadashi
ShravanaRaksha Bandhan, Narali Poornima, Nag Panchami, Krishna Janmashtami
BhadrapadaGanesh Chaturthi, Anant Chaturthi, and Ganesh Visarjan
AshwinDurga Puja and Diwali
KarthikKarwa Chauth, Dhanteras, Diwali Puja, and Bhai Dooj
MargashirshaGita Jayanti, and Vivah Panchmi
PaushaSaphala Ekadashi, and Makar Sankranti
MaghaVasant Panchami, Bhishma Ashtami, Sakat Chauth, and Shattila Ekadashi
FalgunMaha Shivaratri, and Holi

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there any variations in the Hindi names of Gregorian calendar months?

The basic names of the months remain the same in both Hindi and English languages.

How is June referred to in Hindi?

June is known as “जून” in Hindi.

Which month falls in April – May as per the Hindu calendar?

Vaishakha वैशाख

In which month the new year is celebrated according to the Hindu calendar?

Chaitra चैत्र

How many months are there in the Hindu calendar?


Leave a Comment