Chaitra Navratri 2024 April: घटस्थापना मुहूर्त, Puja Vidhi, Wishes

Chaitra Navratri 2024 starts on 9th of April and ends on 17th of April. Also popular as Vasanta Navratri, it is a major festival celebrated in north India that is dedicated to the worship of Goddess Durga. Chaitra

Navratri marks the beginning of a new year according to the Hindu calendar and usually falls in the month of March or April. The word Navaratri is made from two words ‘Nav’ meaning nine and ‘ratri’ meaning night and thus the festival is celebrated for nine days.

During Chaitra Navratri, nine different forms of Goddess Durga is worshiped on nine days. These are- Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, Siddhidhatri. Know the important things related to Chaitra Navratri 2024 festival here from this article.

घटस्थापना मुहूर्त: 9th April 2024

happy Chaitra Navratri 2024

Navratri 2024 April Date

Chaitra Navratri is celebrated during the Shukla Paksha of Chaitra month as per the Hindu calendar. 9th April 2024 marks the beginning of Chaitra Navratri in 2024 and the ninth day will be on 17th April that will be celebrated as Rama Navami.

Chaitra Navratri is dedicated to the worship of Goddess Durga and her nine forms through the nine days. Check below Navratri 2024 April date:

DayDatePrimary Goddess
Navratri Day 1 (Prathama)9th April 2024Maa Shailputri
Navratri Day 2 (Dwitiya)10th April 2024Maa Brahmacharini
Navratri Day 3 (Tritiya)11th April 2024Maa Chandraghanta
Navratri Day 4 (Chaturthi)12th April 2024Maa Kushmanda
Navratri Day 5 (Panchami)13th April 2024Maa Skandamata
Navratri Day 6 (Shashti)14th April 2024Maa Katyayani
Navratri Day 7 (Saptami)15th April 2024Maa Kalaratri
Navratri Day 8 (Ashtami)16th April 2024Maa Mahagauri
Navratri Day 9 (Navami)17th April 2024Maa Siddhidatri
Chaitra Navratri Ki Shubhkamnaye

Chaitra Navratri Significance

It is believed that on the nine days of Navratri, Goddess Durga resides on the earth among her devotees. Normally the goddess’s vehicle is a lion but during Navratri, she comes on a different vehicle that indicates about the future events to come.

Devotees observe fast and pray to Goddess Durga for nine days and seek her blessings in the form of protection from evil. The day also marks the beginning of a new year and is celebrated in many states as new year day. In Maharashtra, first day of this Navratri will be celebrated as Gudi Padwa and in Kashmir, it is called Navreh.

Check: List of Shakti Peethas

Different forms of Goddess Durga

Let us know some more about the nine different forms of Goddess Durga that are worshiped during the Navratri.

  1. Shailputri– Shailputri is the daughter of mountain (Himalaya) and is the absolute form of Mother Nature. She rides on Bull (Nandi) and holds a trident in her right hand and a lotus flower in the left.
  2. Brahmacharini– Brahmacharini is the form of unmarried Parvati engaged in asceticism to please Lord Shiva for marriage. She holds a mala in one hand and kamandal in other.
  3. Chandraghanta– Chandraghanta is the shakti (energy) of Lord Shiva in the form of crescent on Shiva’s forehead.
  4. Kushmanda– Kushmanda is the fourth form of goddess Durga who is credited with creation of the world with her divine smile. She has eight hands and therefore she is also known as Ashtabhuja Devi.
  5. Skandamata– Skandamata is the fifth form of Goddess Durga and is the mother of Skanda (Kartikeya). She awards devotees with salvation, power, prosperity and treasures.
  6. Katyayini– Katyayani is associated with the fierce forms of Durga and is her sixth form. It is believed that Goddess Katyayani was worshiped by Sita, Radha and Rukmini for a good husband.
  7. Kaalratri– Kaalaratri is regarded as a destructive and fierce form of Goddess Durga. Kaalratri is traditionally worshiped on the seventh day of Navratri.
  8. Mahagauri– Mahagauri is worshiped on the eighth day of Navaratri. Mahagauri is usually depicted with four hands and holds a trident, lotus and drum, and give blessing from the fourth hand.
  9. Siddhidatri– It is believed that worshiping the Siddhidatri form of Goddess Durga brings all kinds of accomplishments to the devotees.

Chaitra Navratri Puja Vidhi

On the occasion Of Chaitra Navratri, people observe fasting and offer prayers to different form of Goddess Durga for nine days. Kalash is established on the first day of Chaitra Navratri and is considered highly auspicious. A vessel (kalash)  decorated with five types of leaves, and lumps of turmeric, betel nut, durva, etc is established at a scared place in the house with idol of Goddess Durga placed right along with the kalash.

A lamp (diya) is lit in front of the kalash and idol which glows for nine continuous days. People worship Goddess Durga with utmost devotion for the nine days. Last day of Chaitra Navratri is Ram Navami which celebrates the birth of Vishnu’s 7th avatar, Lord Rama.

Check: Maha Shivratri date

Happy Chaitra Navratri 2024 Wishes

“We wish you a very happy Chaitra Navratri.”

“May this Navrati remove all negativities from your life and bless you with smiles and happines. Happy Navratri 2024!”

“On this auspicios day of Chaitra Navratri, we wish you a healthy, happy, and blessed life ahead.”

“May Maa Durga bless you and your family. Happy Chaitra Navratri!”

“May Maa Durga bring wealth, happiness, health, and harmony to your life this Navratri. We wish you a very happy Chaitra Navratri!”

“May you achieve success in your life with the blessing of Maa Durga. Happy Chaitra Navratri!”


Chaitra Navratri is also popular as Vasanta Navratri and Rama Navratri. People worship for nine forms of Goddess Shakti on 9 days of Navratri.

Nine forms of Goddess Shakti are- Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayini, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri.

Rama Navratri is celebrated on the 9th day of Chaitra Navratri.

In Andhra Pradesh, Chaitra Navratri starts with Ugadi, while it starts with Gudi Padwa in Maharashtra.

Kanya Pujan is also common during Chaitra Navratri.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Navratri April 2024 date?

It starts from 9th April.

चैत्र दुर्गा अष्टमी कब है?

चैत्र दुर्गा अष्टमी 16th April को हैं।

साल में नवरात्रि कितनी बार आती है?

चार बार- पौष, चैत्र, आषाढ और अश्विन।

चैत्र नवरात्रि का कलश स्थापना कब हैं?

चैत्र नवरात्रि का कलश स्थापना 9th April को हैं।

4 thoughts on “Chaitra Navratri 2024 April: घटस्थापना मुहूर्त, Puja Vidhi, Wishes”

Leave a Comment