Hindu Calendar 2023: Vrat and Tyohar (Download PDF)

A Hindu calendar lists all the important festivals, vrats and other significant holidays for Hindus. India is a country of festivals with Holi, Dussehra, Diwali, Eid, Christmas, Lohri, etc being the prominent festivals celebrated by people all over the country. Other than that, there are festivals like amavasya, purnima, pradosh, ekadashi and many others that are of quite significance for the Hindus. You will find all these festivals only in a Hindu calendar that specifies every important vrats and observations significant for Hindus. Get the list of all important festivals and holidays falling in the year 2023 from our Hindu Calendar 2023 along with their days and dates.

Hindu Calendar & Festivals in January 2023

January is the first month in Gregorian calendar but the Hindu year does not start with January. January corresponds to the Pausa and Magha lunar months of the Hindu calendar. A number of important festivals are observed in this month including Makar Sankranti and Mauni Amavasya.

Hindu Calendar & Festivals in January 2023

Also check: Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti

Festivals & Vrats in February 2023

Magha and Phalguna are the lunar months corresponding to February and a number of significant Hindu festivals fall in this month. Maha Shivrati is a major festival of Hindus dedicated to Lord Shiva to be observed in the month of February.

February  Calendar 2023

Hindu Festivals in March 2023

Hindu Festivals in March (Calendar)2023

Chaitra is the first month of the year in Hindu calendar 2023 that corresponds to the March month of Gregorian calendar. Both Phalguna and Chaitra are the corresponding lunar months of March. Holi is the most significant festival celebrated in this month, followed by Rama Navami and Ekadashi vrat.

April 2023- Important Hindu Festivals Observed

April 2023 Hindu Calendar

Followed by March, April also observes many Hindu festivals with Akshaya Tritiya, Chaitra Purnima and Hanuman Jayanti being the most significant. April corresponds to the Chaitra and Vaisakha lunar months in Hindu calendar.

Hindu Calendar May 2023

A number of important observances fall in the month of May that corresponds to the lunar months of Vaisakha and Jyeshtha in Hindu calendar. Vat Savitri vrat, Mohini Ekadashi vrat are some major festivals, especially for married Hindu women, observed in May. Check out the other festivals observed in this month.

Hindu Calendar May 2023
  • Mohini Ekadashi- May 1, Monday
  • Narasimha Jayanti- May 4, Thursday
  • Buddha Purnima/ Chandra Grahan Upachchaya/ Vaishakha Purnima- May 5, Friday
  • Narada Jayanti- May 6, Saturday
  • Vrishabha Sankranti/ Apara Ekadashi- May 15, Monday
  • Vat Savitri Vrat/ Shani Jayanti- May 19, Friday
  • Ganga Dussehra- May 30, Tuesday
  • Nirjala Ekadashi- May 31, Wednesday

June Hindu Calendar 2023

In Gregorian calendar, very few holidays fall in the month of June. But in Hindu calendar, June is an important month with festivities like vat purnima vrat, yogini ekadashi and jagannth yatra. Jyeshtha and Asadha are the lunar months corresponding to June.

June Hindu Calendar 2023
  • Vat Purnima Vrat- June 3, Saturday
  • Jyeshtha Purnima- June 4, Sunday
  • Yogini Ekadashi- June 14, Wednesday
  • Mithuna Sankranti- June 15, Thursday
  • Jagannath Rathyatra- June 20, Tuesday
  • Devshayani Ekadashi- June 29, Thursday

July 2023 Significant Hindu Festivals

July 2023 Hindu Calendar

Many important purnimas, ekadashis and amavasyas are observed in the July month. From Hindu point of view, these festivals are very significant and are observed with great enthusiasm. July marks the beginning of shravan month which is considered very auspicious by the Hindus. Asadha and Sravana are the corresponding Hindu months in July.

  • Guru Purnima/ Ashadha Purnima- July 3, Monday
  • Kamika Ekadashi- July 13, Thursday
  • Karka Sankranti- July 16, Sunday
  • Somavati Amavasya- July 17, Monday
  • Padmini Ekadashi- July 29, Saturday

Important Festivals in August 2023

August 2023 Calendar

August marks the concluding of Shravan month with the festival of Raksha Bandhan celebrated at the month’s end. Both Shravan and Bhadra correspond to the August month in Hindu calendar 2023. Other than Rakhi, Hariyali Teej and Nag Panchami are special observances in August.

  • Shravana Adhika Purnima- August 1, Tuesday
  • Parama Ekadashi- August 12, Saturday
  • Simha Sankranti- August 17, Thursday
  • Hariyali Teej- August 19, Saturday
  • Nag Panchami- August 21, Monday
  • Varalakshmi Vrat- August 25, Friday
  • Shravana Putrada Ekadashi- August 27, Sunday
  • Raksha Bandhan- August 30, Wednesday
  • Gayatri Jayanti- August 31, Thursday
  • Shravana Purnima- August 31, Thursday

September 2023 Hindu Festivals

September 2023 Hindu Calendar

Bhadra and Asvina are the lunar months corresponding to September and many important Hindu festivals fall in this month. Check out the list of all Hindu festivals that will be observed in September 2023.

  • Kajari Teej- September 2, Saturday
  • Janmashtami Smarta- September 6, Wednesday
  • Janmashtami- September 7, Thursday
  • Aja Ekadashi- September 10, Sunday
  • Vishwakarma Puja/ Kanya Sankranti- September 17, Sunday
  • Hartalika Teej- September 18, Monday
  • Ganesh Chaturthi- September 19, Tuesday
  • Rishi Panchami- September 20, Wednesday
  • Radha Ashtami- September 23, Saturday
  • Parsva Ekadashi- September 25, Monday
  • Gauna Parsva Ekadashi- September 26, Tuesday
  • Ganesh Visarjan- September 28, Thursday
  • Anant Chaturdashi- September 28, Thursday
  • Pitrupaksha Begins- September 29, Friday
  • Bhadrapada Purnima- September 29, Friday

Festivals from Hindu calendar in October 2023

Festivals from Hindu calendar in October 2023

A number of festivals that can be found in both Gregorian and Hindu calendar fall in the month of October. October corresponds to the Asvina and kartika lunar month in Hindu calendar. Kartika is considered a very auspicious month for the Hindus.

  • Indira Ekadashi- October 10, Tuesday
  • Sarva Pitru Amavasya/ Surya Grahan Valayakara- October 14, Saturday
  • Navratri Begins- October 15, Sunday
  • Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti– Octrober 15, Sunday
  • Tula Sankranti- October 18, Wednesday
  • Saraswati Avahan- October 20, Friday
  • Saraswati Puja- October 21, Saturday
  • Durga Ashtami- October 22, Sunday
  • Maha Navami- October 23, Monday
  • Vijayadashami- October 24, Tuesday
  • Papankusha Ekadashi- October 25, Wednesday
  • Kojagara Puja- October 28, Saturday
  • Sharad Purnima/ Ashwina Purnima- October 28, Saturday
  • Chandra Grahan Anshika- October 29, Sunday

Major Holidays falling in November 2023

November 2023 Hindu Calendar

Kartik and Agrahayana are the lunar months corresponding to November in Gregorian calendar. Novemnber is another very auspicious month for Hindus with a number of imporatnt festivals, including Karwa Chauth, Diwali, Bhai Dooj, Chhath Puja, being observed in this month.

  • Karwa Chauth- November 1, Wednesday
  • Ahoi Ashtami- November 5, Sunday
  • Govatsa Dwadashi- November 9, Thursday
  • Rama Ekadashi- November 9, Thursday
  • Dhanteras- November 10, Friday
  • Kali Chaudas- November 11, Saturday
  • Diwali/ Lakshmi Puja/ Narak Chaturdashi- November 12, Sunday
  • Govardhan Puja/ Bhaiya Dooj- November 14, Tuesday
  • Vrishchika Sankranti- November 17, Friday
  • Chhath Puja- November 19, Sunday
  • Kansa Vadh- November 22, Wednesday
  • Devutthana Ekadashi- November 23, Thursday
  • Tulasi Vivah- November 24, Friday
  • Kartika Purnima- November 27, Monday

Festivals for December month 2023

 December month 2023 Hindu Calendar

Last month in Gregorian calendar, December, corresponds to the lunar months Agrahayana and Paush. Although there is no major festival falling in this month, important observances include Kalabhairav Jayanti, Mokshada Ekadashi, Vivah Panchami and others.

  • Kalabhairav Jayanti- December 5, Tuesday
  • Utpanna Ekadashi- December 8, Friday
  • Dhanu Sankranti- December 16, Saturday
  • Vivah Panchami- December 17, Sunday
  • Gita Jayanti/ Mokshada Ekadashi- December 22, Friday
  • Gauna Mokshada Ekadashi- December 23, Saturday
  • Dattatreya Jayanti/ Margashirsha Purnima- December 26, Tuesday

Download Hindu Calendar 2023: PDF

FAQS

Why Kartik month in Hindu calendar is considered highly auspicious?

Kartik is the eight month in Hindu calendar and coincides with the October/ November month of Gregorian calendar. The month is considered as the holiest month in Hindu religion that brings good fortune and salvation to those who observe the vrats and festivals falling in kartik with great devotion.

Why do the dates of festivals keep changing in Hindu calendar?

As a matter of fact, the dates of festivals remain the same in Hindu calendar but when reflected in Gregorian calendar, the dates seem to change. E.g., Holi is always celebrated on the full moon day in the month of Phalgun which is fixed in Hindu calendar but the corresponding date in Gregorian calendar changes every year.

What is the difference between Hindu and Gregorian calendar?

The Gregorian calendar is based on the earth’s revolution around the sun, while the Hindu calendar is based on the moon’s revolution around the earth. Months in Gregorian calendar usually have 30 or 31 days but there are only 28 days in Hindu calendar.

What is the importance of Hindu calendar 2023 over Gregorian calendar?

For devotees looking forward to observe significant ekadashis or purnima vrats, Hindu calendar is of utmost importance.

Spread the Knowledge

1 Comment

Add a Comment
  1. Elsa

    Parvati jayanti ❤️ kab gai hai ye to bataya he nhi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *