Islamic Calendar 2023 (Hijri Calendar): Check Full List of Days and Months

The Islamic calendar is a calendar used by Muslims to determine the proper days of the week, months, and years. The Islamic calendar is based on the lunar cycle, and it has a different number of days in each month. In most of the countries, the Islamic calendar is used mainly for religious ceremonies and is not used for everyday activities. However, this calendar is extremely important for the determination of the dates for Ramadan and Hajj.

The Islamic calendar is also known as the Hijri calendar. According to this calendar, there are 12 lunar months in a year and each year has 354 or 355 days. The year 2023 is the Hijri year 1444 – 1445 AH according to the Islamic Calendar. This blog post will let you know details about Islamic Calendar 2023.

Understand Islamic Calendar

In order to help you better understand the Islamic calendar, let’s take a look at how it works. The Islamic calendar is based on the lunar cycle and follows the lunar phases. Each month on the Islamic calendar is based on either the full or new moon.

The Islamic calendar is the most widely used calendar in the world. It is the official calendar of countries such as Saudi Arabia, Iran, and Afghanistan. It is also the official calendar of the Islamic Republic of Iran. The calendar is also used by Muslim Communities around the world for the determination of festivals and events.

Days and Months in an Islamic Calendar

The name of the 12 months in an Islamic Calendar along with their meanings are as follows.

  1. al-Muḥarram – Forbidden
  2. Ṣafar – Void
  3. Rabīʿ al-ʾAwwal – The first spring
  4. Rabīʿ ath-Thānī or Rabīʿ al-ʾĀkhir – The second spring, The last spring
  5. Jumadā al-ʾŪlā – The first of parched land
  6. Jumādā ath-Thāniyah or Jumādā al-ʾĀkhirah – The second of parched land, The last of parched land
  7. Rajab – Respect, Honour
  8. Shaʿbān – Scattered
  9. Ramaḍān – Burning Heat
  10. Shawwāl – Raised
  11. Ḏū al-Qaʿdah – The one of truce/sitting
  12. Ḏū al-Ḥijjah – The one of pilgrimage

Similarly to a Gregorian Calendar, Islamic Calendar also 7 days a week. Check the names of the days in an Islamic Calendar week along with their English meanings.

  • al-ʾAḥad (the One) – Sunday
  • al-Ithnayn (the second) – Monday
  • ath-Thulāthāʾ(the third) – Tuesday
  • al-ʾArbiʿā (the fourth) – Wednesday
  • al-Khamīs (the fifth) – Thursday
  • al-Jumʿah (the gathering) – Friday
  • as-Sabt (the Rest) – Saturday

Islamic Calendar 2023 – Hijri Year 1444 AH – 1445 AH

January 2023 Jumada Al-Akhirah – Rajab 1444
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
8

1

9

2

10

3

11

4

12

5

13

6

14

7

15

8

16

9

17

10

18

11

19

12

20

13

21

14

22

15

23

16

24

17

25

18

26

19

27

20

28

21

29

22

1

23

2

24

3

25

4

26

5

27

6

28

7

29

February 2023 – Rajab 1444 – Sha’ban 1444
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
10

1

11

2

12

3

13

4

14

5

15

6

16

7

17

8

18

9

19

10

20

11

21

12

22

13

23

14

24

15

25

16

26

17

27

18

28

19

29

20

1

21

2

22

3

23

4

24

5

25

6

26

7

27

8

28

March 2023 – Sha’ban 1444 – Ramadan 1444
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
9

1

10

2

11

3

12

4

13

5

14

6

15

7

16

8

17

9

18

10

19

11

20

12

21

13

22

14

23

15

24

16

25

17

26

18

27

19

28

20

29

21

30

22

1

23

2

24

3

25

4

26

5

27

6

28

7

29

8

30

9

3`

April 2023 – Ramadan – Shawwal 1444
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
10

1

11

2

12

3

13

4

14

5

15

6

16

7

17

8

18

9

19

10

20

11

21

12

22

13

23

14

24

15

25

16

26

17

27

18

28

19

29

20

1

21

2

22

3

23

4

24

5

25

6

26

7

27

8

28

9

29

10

30

May 2023 – Shawwal 1444 – Dhul-Qa’dah 1444
  11

1

12

2

13

3

14

4

15

5

16

6

17

7

18

8

19

9

20

10

21

11

22

12

23

13

24

14

25

15

26

16

27

17

28

18

29

19

30

20

1

21

2

22

3

23

4

24

5

25

6

26

7

27

8

28

9

29

10

30

11

31

June 2023 – Dhul-Qadah 1444 – Dhul-Hjjah 1444
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
12

1

13

2

14

3

15

4

16

5

17

6

18

7

19

8

20

9

21

10

22

11

23

12

24

13

25

14

26

15

27

16

28

17

29

18

1

19

2

20

3

21

4

22

5

23

6

24

7

25

8

26

9

27

10

28

11

29

12

30

July 2023 – Dhul Hijjah 1444 – Muharram 1445
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
13

1

14

2

15

3

16

4

17

5

18

6

19

7

20

8

21

9

22

10

23

11

24

12

25

13

26

14

27

15

28

16

29

17

30

18

1

19

2

20

3

21

4

22

5

23

6

24

7

25

8

26

9

27

10

28

11

29

12

30

13

31

August 2023 – Muharram 1445 – Safar 1445
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
  14

1

15

2

16

3

17

4

18

5

19

6

20

7

21

8

22

9

23

10

24

11

25

12

26

13

27

14

28

15

29

16

30

17

1

18

2

19

3

20

4

21

5

22

6

23

7

24

8

25

9

26

10

27

11

28

12

29

13

30

14

31

September 2023 – Safar 1445 – Rabi’ al-Awwal 1445
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
15

1

16

2

17

3

18

4

19

5

20

6

21

7

22

8

23

9

24

10

25

11

26

12

27

13

28

14

29

15

30

16

1

17

2

18

3

19

4

20

5

21

6

22

7

23

8

24

9

25

10

26

11

27

12

28

13

29

14

30

October 2023 – Rabi’ al Awwal 1445 – Rabi’ ath-Thani 1445
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
15

1

16

2

17

3

18

4

19

5

20

6

21

7

22

8

23

9

24

10

25

11

26

12

27

13

28

14

29

15

1

16

2

17

3

18

4

19

5

20

6

21

7

22

8

23

9

24

10

25

11

26

12

27

13

28

14

29

15

30

16

31

 
November 2023 – Rabi’ ath-Thani 1445 – Jumada Al-Ula 1445
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
17

1

18

2

19

3

20

4

21

5

22

6

23

7

24

8

25

9

26

10

27

11

28

12

29

13

30

14

1

15

2

16

3

17

4

18

5

19

6

20

7

21

8

22

9

23

10

24

11

25

12

26

13

27

14

28

15

29

16

30

December 2023 – Jumada Al-Ula 1445 – Jumada Al-Akhirah 1445
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
17

1

18

2

19

3

20

4

21

5

22

6

23

7

24

8

25

9

26

10

27

11

28

12

29

13

1

14

2

15

3

16

4

17

5

18

6

19

7

20

8

21

9

22

10

23

11

24

12

25

13

26

14

27

15

28

16

29

17

30

Important Dates and Events in Islamic Calendar 2023

Here is the list of important dates Islamic calendar:

Gregorian Calendar Date and Day Islamic Calendar Date Event
06 January 2023, Friday 13 Jumada al-Akhirah 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
07 January 2023, Saturday 14 Jumada al-Akhirah 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
08 January 2023, Sunday 15 Jumada al-Akhirah 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
23 January 2023, Monday 1 Rajab 1444 AH Start of Rajab (Sacred month)
04 February 2023, Saturday 13 Rajab 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
05 February 2023, Sunday 14 Rajab 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
06 February 2023, Monday 15 Rajab 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
18 February 2023, Saturday 27 Rajab 1444 AH Isra’ Mi’raj
21 February 2023, Tuesday 1 Sha’ban 1444 AH Start of Sha’ban
05 March 2023, Sunday  13 Sha’ban 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
06 March 2023, Monday 14 Sha’ban 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
07 March 2023, Tuesday 15 Sha’ban 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
07 March 2023, Tuesday 15 Sha’ban 1444 AH Nisfu Sha’ban
23 March 2023, Thursday 1 Ramadan 1444 AH Start of Ramadan
23 March 2023, Thursday 1 Ramadan 1444 AH Start of Fasting Ramadan
08 April 2023, Saturday 17 Ramadan 1444 AH Nuzul-al Qur’an
12 April 2023, Wednesday 21 Ramadan 1444 AH 10 Last Days of Ramadan
13 April 2023, Thursday 22 Ramadan 1444 AH 10 Last Days of Ramadan
14 April 2023, Friday 23 Ramadan 1444 AH 10 Last Days of Ramadan
15 April 2023, Saturday 24 Ramadan 1444 AH 10 Last Days of Ramadan
16 April 2023, Sunday 25 Ramadan 1444 AH 10 Last Days of Ramadan
17 April 2023, Monday 26 Ramadan 1444 AH 10 Last Days of Ramadan
18 April 2023, Tuesday 27 Ramadan 1444 AH 10 Last Days of Ramadan
18 April 2023, Tuesday 27 Ramadan 1444 AH Laylat al-Qadr
19 April 2023, Wednesday 28 Ramadan 1444 AH 10 Last Days of Ramadan
20 April 2023, Thursday 29 Ramadan 1444 AH 10 Last Days of Ramadan
21 April 2023, Friday 1 Shawwal 1444 AH Start of Shawwal
21 April 2023, Friday 1 Shawwal 1444 AH Eid ul-Fitr
03 May 2023, Wednesday 13 Shawwal 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
04 May 2023, Thursday 14 Shawwal 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
05 May 2023, Friday 15 Shawwal 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
21 May 2023, Sunday 1 Dhul-Qa’dah 1444 AH Start of Dhul-Qa’dah (Sacred month)
02 June 2023, Friday 13 Dhul-Qa’dah 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
03 June 2023, Saturday 14 Dhul-Qa’dah 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
04 June 2023, Sunday 15 Dhul-Qa’dah 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
19 June 2023, Monday 1 Dhul-Hijjah 1444 AH Start of Dhul-Hijjah (Sacred month)
27 June 2023, Tuesday 9 Dhul-Hijjah 1444 AH Wuquf in ‘Arafa (Hajj)
28 June 2023, Wednesday 10 Dhul-Hijjah 1444 AH Eid ul-Adha
29 June 2023, Thursday 11, 12, 13 Dhul-Hijjah 1444 AH Days of Tashriq
02 July 2023, Sunday 14 Dhul-Hijjah 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
03 July 2023, Monday 15 Dhul-Hijjah 1444 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
19 July 2023, Wednesday 1 Muharram 1445 AH Start of Muharram (Sacred month)
19 July 2023, Wednesday 1 Muharram 1445 AH Islamic New Year
27 July 2023, Thursday 9 Muharram 1445 AH Fasting Tasu’a
28 July 2023, Friday 10 Muharram 1445 AH Fasting ‘Ashura
31 July 2023, Monday 13 Muharram 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
01 August 2023, Tuesday 14 Muharram 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
02 August 2023, Wednesday 15 Muharram 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
18 August 2023, Friday 1 Safar 1445 AH Start of Safar
30 August 2023, Wednesday 13 Safar 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
31 August 2023, Thursday 14 Safar 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
01 September 2023, Friday 15 Safar 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
17 September 2023, Sunday 1 Rabi’ al-Awwal 1445 AH Start of Rabi’ al-Awwal
28 September 2023, Thursday 12 Rabi’ al-Awwal 1445 AH Mawlid (Birth) of the Prophet
29 September 2023, Friday 13 Rabi’ al-Awwal 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
30 September 2023, Saturday 14 Rabi’ al-Awwal 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
01 October 2023, Sunday 15 Rabi’ al-Awwal 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
16 October 2023, Monday 1 Rabi’ ath-Thani 1445 AH Start of Rabi’ ath-Thani
28 October 2023, Saturday 13 Rabi’ ath-Thani 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
29 October 2023, Sunday 14 Rabi’ ath-Thani 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
30 October 2023, Monday 15 Rabi’ ath-Thani 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
15 November 2023, Wednesday 1 Jumada al-Ula 1445 AH Start of Jumada al-Ula
27 November 2023, Monday 13 Jumada al-Ula 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
28 November 2023, Tuesday 14 Jumada al-Ula 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
29 November 2023, Wednesday 15 Jumada al-Ula 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
14 December 2023, Thursday 1 Jumada al-Akhirah 1445 AH Start of Jumada al-Akhirah
26 December 2023, Tuesday 13 Jumada al-Akhirah 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
27 December 2023, Wednesday 14 Jumada al-Akhirah 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh
28 December 2023, Thursday 15 Jumada al-Akhirah 1445 AH Fasting Ayyamul Bidh

“We hope you appreciated our blog about the Islamic Calendar 2023.  We hope it will help you plan anything related to your Ramadan or other festivals. As always, if you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us via comment section. We would love to hear from you.”

Spread the Knowledge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *