List of Chief Ministers of Bihar (1950-2023): Bihar CM List, First Female CM of Bihar, First Chief Minister of Bihar

Sri Krishna Sinha was the first chief minister of Bihar served from 26th January 1950 to 31st January 1961. Rabri Devi was the first female chief minister of Bihar. Let’s uncover the list of all chief ministers of Bihar starting from 1950 to 2023.

Nitish Kumar

Nitish Kumar took the oath as the Chief Ministers of Bihar on 10th August 2022, while Tejashwi Yadav took oath as the Deputy Chief Ministers of Bihar. We are listing below all chief ministers of Bihar starting from 1950 to 2023.

List of Chief Ministers of Bihar (1950-2023)

Check below Bihar CM list for the period 1950-2023:

SL. No Name of CM Period Party
1. Sri Krishna Sinha 26 January 1950 to 31 January 1961 Indian National Congress
2. Deep Narayan Singh 1 February 1961 to 18 February 1961 Indian National Congress
3. Binodanand Jha 18 February 1961 to 2 October 1963 Indian National Congress
4. Krishna Ballabh Sahay 2 October 1963 to 5 March 1967 Indian National Congress
5. Mahamaya Prasad Sinha 5 March 1967 to 28 January 1968 Jana Kranti Dal
6. Satish Prasad Singh 28 January 1968 to 1 February 1968 Shoshit Dal
7. Bindheshwari Prasad Mandal 1 February 1968 to 22 March 1968 Shoshit Dal
8. Bhola Paswan Shastri 22 March 1968 to 29 June 1968 Indian National Congress
9. Harihar Singh 26 February 1969 to 22 June 1969 Indian National Congress
10. Daroga Prasad Rai 16 February 1970 to 22 December 1970 Indian National Congress
11. Karpoori Thakur 22 December 1970 to 2 June 1971 Socialist Party
12. Kedar Pandey 19 March 1972 to 2 July 1973 Indian National Congress
13. Abdul Gafoor 2 July 1973 to 11 April 1975 Indian National Congress
14. Jagannath Mishra 11 April 1975 to 30 April 1977 Indian National Congress
15. Ram Sundar Das 21 April 1979 to 17 February 1980 Janata Party
16. Chandrashekhar Singh 14 August 1983 to 12 March 1985 Indian National Congress (I)
17. Bindeshwari Dubey 12 March 1985 to 13 February 1988 Indian National Congress (I)
18. Bhagwat Jha Azad 14 February 1988 to 10 March 1989 Indian National Congress (I)
19. Satyendra Narayan Sinha 11 March 1989 to 6 December 1989 Indian National Congress (I)
20. Lalu Prasad Yadav 10 March 1990 to 28 March 1995 Janata Dal
21. Rabri Devi 25 July 1997 to 11 February 1999 Rashtriya Janata Dal
22. Nitish Kumar 3 March 2000 to 10 March 2000 Samta Party
24 November 2005 to 26 November 2010 Janata Dal (United)
26 November 2010 to 20 May 2014 Janata Dal (United)
23. Jitan Ram Manjhi 20 May 2014 to 22 February 2015 Janata Dal (United)
(22) Nitish Kumar 22 February 2015 to 20 November 2015 Janata Dal (United)
20 November 2015 to 16 November 2020 Janata Dal (United)
16 November 2020 9th August 2022

10th August to —

Janata Dal (United)

*We have prepared the table of Chief Ministers of Bihar with utmost care. If we have committed certain mistakes then let us know through the comment box below. We’ll verify and update it no time.

GK Questions on Chief Ministers of Bihar

Question 1: Who was the first chief minister of Bihar?

Answer: Sri Krishna Sinha

Question 2: Who was the first female chief minister of Bihar?

Answer: Rabri Devi

Question 3: Who is current chief minister of Bihar?

Answer: Nitish Kumar from Janata Dal (United)

Question 4: How many members are in Bihar Legislative Council?

Answer: 75 out of which 63 are elected and 12 are nominated

Question 5: Who is the chairman of Bihar Legislative Council?

Answer: Awadhesh Narain Singh, BJP is the chairman of Bihar Legislative Council since June 2020.

Question 6: How many members are there in Bihar Legislative Assembly?

Answer: 243

Question 7: Who is the speaker of Bihar Legislative Assembly?

Answer: Awadh Bihari Chaudhary

Question 8: Who is the Governor of Bihar?

Answer: Rajendra Viswanath Arlekar since 14th February 2023

Current Cabinet Ministers of Bihar

Shri Nitish Kumar Chief Minister
Tejashwi Yadav Deputy Chief Minister
Sumit Kumar Singh Science and Technology
Santosh Kumar Suman SC/ST Welfare
Murari Prasad Gautam Panchayati Raj
Md Afaque Alam Animal husbandry and Fisheries
Sunil Kumar Singh Excise & Prohibition
Madan Sahni Social Welfare
Jayant Raj Kushwaha Minor Water Resources
Mohd Zama Khan Minority welfare
Leshi Singh Food & Consumer Protection Department
Sanjay Kumar Jha Water Resources Information & Public Relations
Shrawan Kumar Rural Development
Sheela Kumari Mandal Transport
Ashok Choudhary Building Construction
Bijendra Prasad Yadav Energy Planning & Development
Vijay Kumar Chaudhary Finance, Commercial Tax, Parliamentary affairs
Samir Kumar Mahaseth Industries
Mohammad Israil Mansuri Information Technology
Mohammed Shahnawaz Alam Disaster Management
Surendra Ram Labour resources
Rama Nand Yadav Mines and Geology
Jitendra Kumar Ray Art, Culture & Youth Affairs
Lalit Kumar Yadav Public Health Engineering department
Chandra Shekhar Education
Surendra Prasad Yadav Co-operative
Anita Devi BC & EBC Welfare
Kumar Sarvajeet Tourism
Alok Kumar Mehta Revenue and Land reforms


Categories GK

Leave a Comment