List of Chief Ministers of Maharashtra (1960-2022): First CM of Maharashtra, Maharashtra CM List

Spread the Knowledge

Sri Yashwantrao Balwantrao Chavan was the first chief minister (CM) of Maharashtra served from 1st May 1960 to 19th November 1962. Let’s uncover the list of all chief ministers of Maharashtra starting from 1960 to 2022.

Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray took the oath as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra for the 14th Assembly (2020-24) on November 28, 2019, while Ajit Pawar sworn-in as the Deputy Chief Ministers of Maharashtra. We are listing below all chief ministers of Maharashtra starting from 1960 to 2022.

List of Chief Ministers of Maharashtra (1960-2022)

Check below Maharashtra cm list for the period 1960-2022:

SL. No Name of CM Period Party
1. Yashwantrao Balwantrao Chavan 1 May 1960 to 19 November 1962 Indian National Congress
2. Marotrao Shambshio Kannamwar 20 November 1962 to 24 November 1963 Indian National Congress
3. P. K. Sawant 25 November 1963 to 4 December 1963 Indian National Congress
4. Vasantrao Phulsing Naik 5 December 1963 to 1 March 1967

1 March 1967 to 13 March 1972

13 March 1972 to 20 February 1975

Indian National Congress
5. Shankarrao Bhavrao Chavan 21 February 1975 to 16 May 1977 Indian National Congress
6. Vasantrao Banduji Patil 17 May 1977 to 5 March 1978

5 March 1978 to 18 July 1978

Indian National Congress (Urs)
7. Sharad Govindrao Pawar 18 July 1978 to 17 February 1980 Indian National Congress (Socialist) (Progressive Democratic Front)
8. Abdul Rehman Antulay 9 June 1980 to 12 January 1982 Indian National Congress
9. Babasaheb Anantrao Bhosale 21 January 1982 to 1 February 1983 Indian National Congress
10. Vasantrao Banduji Patil 2 February 1983 to 1 June 1985 Indian National Congress
11. Shivajirao Patil Nilangekar 3 June 1985 to 6 March 1986 Indian National Congress
12. Shankarrao Bhavrao Chavan 12 March 1986 to 26 June 1988 Indian National Congress
13. Sharad Govindrao Pawar 26 June 1988 to 3 March 1990

4 March 1990 to 25 June 1991

Indian National Congress
14. Sudhakarrao Rajusing Naik 25 June 1991 to 22 February 1993 Indian National Congress
15. Sharad Govindrao Pawar 6 March 1993 to 14 March 1995 Indian National Congress
16. Manohar Gajanan Joshi 14 March 1995 to 31 January 1999 Shiv Sena (Sena-BJP)
17. Narayan Tatu Rane 1 February 1999 to 17 October 1999 Shiv Sena (Sena-BJP)
18. Vilasrao Dagadojirao Deshmukh 18 October 1999 to 16 January 2003 Indian National Congress (Congress-NCP)
19. Sushilkumar Sambhaji Shinde 18 January 2003 to 30 October 2004 Indian National Congress (Congress-NCP)
20. Vilasrao Dagodajirao Deshmukh 1 November 2004 to 4 December 2008 Indian National Congress (Congress-NCP)
21. Ashok Shankarrao Chavan 8 December 2008 to 15 October 2009

7 November 2009 to 9 November 2010

Indian National Congress (Congress-NCP)
22. Prithviraj Chavan 11 November 2010 to 26 September 2014 Indian National Congress (Congress-NCP)
23. Devendra Gangadharrao Fadnavis 31 October 2014 to 8 November 2019

23 November 2019 to 26 November 2019

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP-Sena)
24. Uddhav Bal Thackeray  28 November 2019 to Incumbent Shiv Sena

*We have prepared the table of Chief Ministers of Maharashtra with utmost care. If we have committed certain mistakes then let us know through the comment box below. We’ll verify and update it no time.

GK Questions on CM of Maharashtra

Question 1: Who was the first chief minister of Maharashtra?

Answer: Sri Yashwantrao Balwantrao Chavan

Question 2: Who is current chief minister of Maharashtra?

Answer: Uddhav Bal Thackeray from Shiv Sena

Question 3: How many members are in Maharashtra Legislative Council?

Answer: 78 out of which 66 are elected and 12 are nominated

Question 4: Who is the chairman of Maharashtra Legislative Council?

Answer: Ramraje Naik Nimbalkar, NCP is the chairman of Maharashtra Legislative Council since July 2016.

Question 5: How many members are there in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly?

Answer: 288

Question 6: Who is the speaker of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly?

Answer: Bhaskar Jadhav, NCP

Question 7: Who is the Governor of Maharashtra?

Answer: Bhagat Singh Koshyari

Current Cabinet Ministers of Maharashtra

Uddhav Thackeray Chief Minister General Administration, Law and Judiciary, Information and Public Relations, Information Technology, Other departments not allocated to any Minister, Forests Department, Disaster Management, Relief and Rehabilitation
Ajit Pawar Deputy Chief Minister Finance, Planning, State Excise (Acting)
Balasaheb Thorat Cabinet Minister  Revenue
Jayant Patil Cabinet Minister Water Resources and Command Area Development
Dhananjay Munde Cabinet Minister Social Justice, Special Assistance
Chhagan Bhujbal Cabinet Minister Food & Civil Supply, Consumer Affairs
Aaditya Thackeray Cabinet Minister Environment and Climate Change, Tourism, Protocol
Nawab Malik Cabinet Minister Minority Development and Aukaf, Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
Ashok Chavan Cabinet Minister Public Works (Excluding Public Undertakings)
Rajendra Shingne Cabinet Minister Food and Drug Administration
Rajesh Tope Cabinet Minister Public Health and Family Welfare
Hasan Mushrif Cabinet Minister Rural Development, Labour (Acting)
Nitin Raut Cabinet Minister Energy
Varsha Gaikwad Cabinet Minister School Education
Jitendra Awhad Cabinet Minister Housing
Eknath Shinde Cabinet Minister Urban Development, Public Works (including Public Undertakings)
Sunil Chhatrapal Kedar Cabinet Minister Animal Husbandry, Dairy Development, Sports and Youth Welfare
Vijay Namdevrao Wadettiwar Cabinet Minister Other Backward Classes, Socially and Educationally Backward Classes, Vimukta Jati, Nomadic Tribes and Special Backward Classes Welfare, Khar Land Development, Earthquake Rehabilitation
Amit Deshmukh Cabinet Minister Medical Education, Cultural Affairs
Uday Samant Cabinet Minister Higher Education and Technical Education
Dadaji Bhuse Cabinet Minister Agriculture, Ex. Servicemen Welfare
Sanjay Rathod Cabinet Minister Forest, Disaster Management, Relief and Rehabilitation
Gulabrao Patil Cabinet Minister Water Supply, Sanitation
K.C.Padvi Cabinet Minister Tribal development
Sandipanrao Bhumre Cabinet Minister Employment Guarantee, Horticulture
Shamrao Pandurang Patil Cabinet Minister Co-operation, Marketing
Anil Parab Cabinet Minister Transport, Parliamentary Affairs
Aslam Shaikh Cabinet Minister Textiles, Fisheries, Port Development
Yashomati Chandrakant Thakur Cabinet Minister Women and Child Development.
Shankarrao Gadakh Soil and Water conservation
Subhash Desai Industries, Mining, Marathi Language.
Dilip Walse-Patil Home Affairs

If you find some sort of errors in this article then please share it through the comment box below. It will help us to maintain accuracy. You can also ask your concern(s), if any, we are here to assist you.

Spread the Knowledge

1 Comment

Add a Comment
  1. Pawan chavhan


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.