Miss World Winners from India List

Miss World is an International beauty pageant. It is perhaps the oldest running beauty pageant in the world. Along with three other Pageants i.e.  Miss Universe, Miss International, and Miss Earth, this pageant is one of the Big Four international beauty pageants. The next Miss World contest is scheduled to take place on 16th December 2021. The current miss world is Toni-Ann Singh. She is from Jamaica. She was crowned in the year 2019.

So far, there are six Indian women who have won this title. In the year, 2017 Manushi Chillar won the Miss World and become the sixth Indian to do so. In this post, we are providing the List of Miss World Winners from India.

Winners of Miss World from India

As stated earlier, India has won this Pageant six times so far. Rita Faria won the first pageant for India in the year 1966. Then, after 28 years, Aishwarya Rai claimed the title in the year. Here is the list of all title Miss world winners from India so far.

  1. Reita Faria

  • Won the title in the year –
  • Biography –  She is a Physician and formal model. She won the Miss World contest in the year 1966. Reita was born in Mumbai to Goan parents. She is the first Asian woman to have won the title of Miss World. Apart from this, she is the first winner of the Miss World title who qualified as a physician. She is married to Dr. David Powell and has two children.
  1. Aishwarya Rai

  • Won the title in the year – 1994
  • Biography –  Aishwarya Rai Bachchan is an actress. She won the title in the year 1994. She was born in Mangalore, Karnataka and her father was an Army biologist. Aishwarya is a trained classical dancer and one of the most successful Bollywood actresses ever. In her early days, she had plans to become an architect and got enrolled at Rachana Sansad Academy of Architecture. Later she gave up to pursue a career in modelling.  She is married to Abhishek Bachchan.
  1. Diana Hayden

  • Won the title in the year – 1997
  • Biography –   Born in the year 1973, Diana Hayden won the miss world title in the year 1997. She also won three subtitles during the content and is the only Miss World winner to do so. She is from an Anglo-Indian family. Before taking up modelling seriously, she worked for an event management company called Encore. She is married to Collin Dick and has three children. Before Miss World, Diana also won Femina Miss India Contest in 1997.
  1. Yukta Mookhey

  • Won the title in the year – 1999
  • Biography –   Born in Bangalore in a Sindhi family, Yukta Mookhey is an Indian Actress and Civic Activist. She won the Miss World Beauty Pageant in the year 1999. Yukta is very active in Social work and charitable causes. She has helped people especially those who are suffering from critical illnesses like HIV/AIDS, breast cancer and thalassemia. Recently, she was seen in the movie “Good Newwz”.
  1. Priyanka Chopra

  • Won the title in the year – 2000
  • Biography –  Priyanka Chopra is a multi-talented personality. She is an actress, singer, model, and film producer. She won the title of Miss World in the year 2000. After that, she worked in many successful films of Bollywood.  She is also working continuously with UNICEF since 2006 and was appointed as the national and global UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador for child rights in 2010 and 2016, respectively. Priyanka is married to Nick Jonas who is an American Singer.
  1. Manushi Chillar

  • Won the title in the year – 2017
  • Biography – Manushi is the most recent Miss World title winner from India. She was crowned Miss World in the year 2017. Born in Rohtak Haryana, Manushi is a trained Kuchipudi dancer and had acquired her training under Raja and Radha Reddy. In addition to this, she is the brand ambassador for the Anaemia Free Haryana program. She is also participating in “Project Shakti” which ensures free availability of sanitary napkins for all girls in the government schools of Haryana.

List of all Miss World Winners

Check out the list of all Miss World Pageant winners so far. 

Year Name of the Title Winner  Country
1951 Kiki Håkansson Sweden
1952 May-Louise Flodin Sweden
1953 Denise Perrier France
1954 Antigone Costanda Egypt
1955 Susana Duijm Venezuela
1956 Petra Schumann Germany
1957 Marita Lindahi Finland
1958 Penelope Coelen South Africa
1959 Corine  Rottschafer Netherlands
1960 Norma Cappagli Argentina
1962 Catharina Lodders Netherlands
1964 Ann Sidney United Kingdom
1966 Rieta Fariya India
1967 Madeline Hartog-Bel Peru
1968 Penelope Plummer Australia
1969 Eva Rueber-Staier Austria
1970 Jennifer Hosten Grenada
1974 Anneline Kriel South Africa
1977 Mary Stavin Sweden
1978 Silvana Suarez Argentina
1993 Lisa Hanna Jamaica
1994 Aishwarya Rai India
1995 Jacqueline Aguilera Venezuela
1997 Diana Hayden India
1998 Linor Abargil Israel
1999 Yukta Mookhey India
2000 Priyanka Chopra India
2001 Agbani Darego Nigeria
2002 Azra Akin Turkey
2003 Rosanna Davison Ireland
2004 Maria Julia Mantilla Peru
2006 Tatana Kucharova Czech Republic
2007 Zhang Zilin China
2008 Ksenia Sukhinova Russia
2009 Kaiane Aldorino Gibraltar
2010 Alexandria Mills United States
2011 Ivian Sarcos Venezuela
2012 Yu Wenxia China
2013 Megan Young Philippines
2014 Rolene Strauss South Africa
2015 Mireia Lalaguna Spain
2016 Stephanie Del Valle Puerto Rico
2017 Manushi Chillar India
2018 Vanessa Ponce Mexico
2019 Toni-Ann Singh Jamaica

Frequently Asked Questions

Question – 1: Who won the title of Miss World 2021?

Answer: The miss world 70th edition of the Miss World pageant i.e. Miss World 2021 will be held on 16th December 2021. So, the winner is not yet announced.

Question – 2: Who is the most recent Miss World from India?

Answer: Manushi Chhillar. She won the title in the year 2017.

Question – 3: When did Aishwarya Rai win the Miss World Title?

Answer: Aishwarya Rai has crowned the title in the year 1994.

Question – 4: Who was the first Indian to win Miss World?

Answer: Reita Faria was the first India to win the Miss World title. She won the contest in the year 1966.

Leave a Comment