List of High Courts in India: Know the list of All 25 High Courts in India

The right to constitutional remedies and the Right against exploitation are two fundamental rights that every citizen in India has. To implement these rights it is necessary to have a judiciary system in the country. A high court is one of the most important parts of the Indian Judiciary. In case a person is not satisfied with the judgement of the session court then he has the right to appeal to the high court. Presently, there are 25 High Courts in India in today which are located around different Indian States and Union Territories.

You should know that a high court is the “Highest Judicial court in an Indian State”. Questions are often asked from the list of high courts in India in different competitive exams. To help students, we are going to provide the list of all high courts in India with their year of establishment, Act of Establishment, Chief justice, and jurisdiction area.

List of Total high courts in India 2023

Go through the list of all 25 high courts in India as explained in the following table.

Name of the court Date of Establishment Chief Justice Area of Jurisdiction
Allahabad High Court 17 March 1866 Rajesh Bindal Lucknow
Andhra Pradesh High Court 1 January 2019 Prashant Kumar Mishra Amaravati
Bombay High Court 14 August 1862 Dipankar Dutta Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Maharashtra,
Calcutta High Court 2 July 1862 Prakash Shrivastava Andaman and Nicobar Islands, West Bengal Kolkata, Port Blair
Chhattisgarh High Court 1 November 2000 Arup Kumar Goswami Chhattisgarh
Delhi High Court 31 October 1966 Dhirubhai Naranbhai Patel Delhi
Gauhati High Court 1 March 1948 Sudhanshu Dhulia Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Mizoram, Nagaland
Gujarat High Court 1 May 1960 Aravind Kumar Gujarat
Himachal Pradesh High Court 25 January 1971 Mohammed Rafiq Himachal Pradesh
High Court of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh 26 March 1928 Pankaj Mithal Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh
Jharkhand High Court 15 November 2000 Ravi Ranjan Jharkhand
Karnataka High Court 1884 Ritu Raj Awasthi Karnataka
Kerala High Court 1 November 1956 S Manikumar Kerala, Lakshadweep
Madhya Pradesh High Court 2 January 1936 Ravi Malimath Madhya Pradesh
Madras High Court 15 August 1862 Munishwar Nath Bhandan Tamil Nadu, Puducherry
Manipur High Court 25 March 2013 P.V. Sanjay Kumar Manipur
Meghalaya High Court 23 March 2013 Sanin Banerjee Meghalaya
Odisha High Court 3 April 1948 S Muralidhar Odisha
Patna High Court 2 September 1916 Sanjay Karol  
Punjab and Haryana High Court 15 August 1947 Ravi Shankar Jha Chandigarh, Haryana, Punjab
Rajasthan High Court 21 June 1949 Akil Abdulhamid Kureshi Rajasthan
Sikkim High Court 16 May 1975 Biswanath Somadder Sikkim
Telangana High Court 1 January 2019 Satish Chandra Sharma Telangana
Tripura High Court 26 March 2013 Indrajit Mahanty Tripura
Uttarakhand High Court 9 November 2000 Raghvendra Singh Chauhan Uttarakhand

Frequently Asked Questions

Question – 1: Which articles of the Indian constitution deal with the provision of the high courts in India? 

Answer: Articles 214 to 231 of Indian Constitution deal with the provisions of the high courts in India.

Question – 2: Which articles of the Indian constitution states the law of the appointment of Judges of the high courts in India?

Answer: Article 217 of the Indian constitution deals with the appointment of judges of High courts in India.

Question – 3: Which is the oldest high court in India?

Answer: Calcutta high court is the oldest high court in India. It was established on 2nd July 1862.

Question – 4: How many high courts are there in India?

Answer: There are 25 high courts in India at present.

Spread the Knowledge
Categories GK

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!