Rugby World Cup Winners from 1987 to 2023

Rugby is one of the most loved sports in the world. It is a kind of sport that not only tests your physical endurance but also your mental fitness. The World Cup is the most elite tournament played in the sport of Rugby. If you are a fan and want to know about the Rugby World Cup Winners from 1987 to 2023 then you are on the right page. 

Instituted 36 years ago, the Rugby World Cup has a massive fan following. So far, the tournament is dominated by teams like New Zealand, and South Africa. Check out this post to see the list of All Rugby World Cup Winners to date.

Rugby World Cup At a Glance

Name of the competitionRugby World Cup
Organized by World Rugby (World Governing Body for the sports of Rugby Union)
Number of Teams20
Played After (Frequency)4 Years
First Tournament 1987
Official Website

Winners of the Rugby World Cup from 1987 to 2023 

YearsHost CountriesWinners
1987Australia and New ZealandNew Zealand
1991England, France, Ireland, Scotland, WalesAustralia
1995South AfricaSouth Africa
2003Australia England
2007FranceSouth Africa
2011New ZealandNew Zealand
2015EnglandNew Zealand
2019JapanSouth Africa
2023FranceTo be determined

Check: Sports Quiz

Details of All Rugby World Cup Winners 

  1. New Zealand – 1987 

The inaugural Rugby World Cup was won by New Zealand. They were also hosting the tournament along with Australia. They defeated France in a one-sided match in the final. 

  1. Australia – 1991 

Australia claimed the title by defeating England in a thrilling final that ended with a score of 12-6. The final match of the tournament was played in London, England. The winner of the previous tournament, New Zealand finished in 3rd place. 

  1. South Africa – 1995 

South Africa hosted and won the Rugby World Cup in 1995. Under the captaincy of Francios Pienaar, the South African rugby team defeated New Zealand by a score of 15-12. The final match was played at Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg and it was attended by nearly 60,000 people. 

  1. Australia – 1999

Australia reclaimed their World Cup title in 1999 after a disappointing performance in the last tournament. They beat France by 35-12 in the final match. John Eales was leading the Australian team as a captain. 

  1. England – 2003 

In a thrilling final against Australia in 2003, England secured their first-ever Rugby World Cup title with a score of 20-17. Australia was also the host of the 2003 Rugby World Cup. It was the first time the title went to a European team. 

  1. South Africa – 2007 

In 2007, South Africa returned to claim their 2nd Rugby World Cup title. They defeated England with the scoreline of 15-6 in the final. This tournament is also remembered for the tactical brilliance of South African Coach Jake White and Captain John Smit. 

  1. New Zealand – 2011

Under the leadership of captain Richie McCaw, New Zealand claimed their second Rugby World Cup title on home soil in 2011. They faced a stiff competition in the final against France. Only one point separated the two teams in the final which New Zealand won by 8-7. 

  1. New Zealand – 2015

Continuing their dominance, New Zealand won their third Rugby World Cup Title in 2015. Led by inspirational captain Richie McCaw, New Zealand showcased their amazing skill, and speed throughout the tournament. As per many experts, this Rugby team from New Zealand was one of the best to ever play the sport. 

  1. South Africa – 2019 

Japan hosted an unforgettable tournament as South Africa grabbed their third Rugby World Cup. They defeated England comprehensively in the final with a score of 32-12. This final match of the tournament was the most watched TV broadcast in 2019 in the UK with a peak audience of 12.8 million watched on ITV.

  1. Yet to be determined – 2023 

The final match of the 2023 Rugby World Cup is not yet played. So, the winner is not determined as of now. France is hosting the tournament and the final match will be played at Stade de France. 

Teams with the most Rugby World Cup Titles 

Here is the list of teams that have won the most number of Rugby World Cups. The game has shown the exceptional talent of many top Rugby players.

  • New Zealand – 3 Titles (1987, 2011, and 2015)
  • South Africa – 3 Titles (1995, 2007, and 2019)
  • Australia – 2 Titles (1991 and 1999)
  • England – 1 Title (2003)

Frequently Asked Questions 

Which team won the first Rugby World Cup in 1987?

New Zealand

Which country has won the Rugby World Cup the most number of times?

New Zealand, and South Africa with 3 titles each

How many times has Australia won the Rugby World Cup?

2 times

Which team claimed victory in the 1999 Rugby World Cup?


Who emerged as the winner of the Rugby World Cup in 1995?

South Africa

Which is the only European team to win the Rugby World Cup so far?


Leave a Comment