FIFA World Cup Winners List from 1930 to 2022

Established in the year 1930 by the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA), the FIFA World Cup is an international competition of football associations all over the world. The participating associations are the members of FIFA. 

The competition has been held every four years since 1930,  except in 1942 and 1946 when it was canceled due to  World War II. The most recent 2018 FIFA World Cup was hosted in Russia and won by France, who beat Croatia 4–2 in regulation time.

In a total of 22 tournaments held so far, eight countries have been crowned as FIFA World Cup Winner. The team that wins the finals receive the FIFA World Cup Trophy and their name is engraved on the bottom side of the trophy. This article presents the FIFA World Cup Winners List from 1930 to 2022 along with their runner-ups, location and other interesting facts.

Argentina was the winner of 2022 FIFA world cup after defeating France in the final.

FIFA World Cup Winners List from 1930 to 2022

Except in 1942 and 1946, the FIFA World Cup tournament has been organized every year since 1930. Uruguay was the winner of the inaugural FIFA World Cup tournament where it won by defeating Argentina with the score of 4–2. Argentina became the runner-up of the first FIFA World Cup tournament. Find more about the FIFA World Cup winners list from 1930 to 2022 in the table below.

YearFIFA World Cup winnersRunner-upLocation
1954West GermanyHungarySwitzerland
1966EnglandWest GermanyEngland
1974West GermanyNetherlandsWest Germany
1982ItalyWest GermanySpain
1986ArgentinaWest GermanyMexico
1990West GermanyArgentinaItaly
1994BrazilItalyUnited States
2010SpainNetherlandsSouth Africa
2022Argentina FranceQatar

Also checkRichest Football Players in the World

FIFA World Cup Winners by Numbers

Till date, 22 tournaments of FIFA World Cup has been held in which 79 nations have appeared at least once. Out of these, 13 countries have made it to the final match and eight have managed to win the tournament. Brazil is the most successful World Cup team so far with a total of five titles.

It is also the only nation to have participated in every World Cup tournament. Italy and Germany ranks second with four titles whereas Uruguay, Argentina and the current champion France have two titles each. England and Spain both have won one titles each.

Croatia Netherlands, Hungary, Sweden and Czechoslovakia have made it to finals so far but haven’t won any titles yet. Let us check out the FIFA World Cup winners by numbers.

Check: FIFA world cup GK


  • Wins: 5, Runner-ups: 2, Finals: 7
  • Years won: 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002


  • Wins: 4, Runner-ups: 4, Finals: 8
  • Years won: 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014


  • Wins: 4 Runner-ups: 2, Finals: 6
  • Years won: 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006


  • Wins: 3 Runner-ups: 3, Finals: 5
  • Years won: 1978, 1986


  • Wins: 2 Runner-ups: 1, Finals: 3
  • Years won: 1998, 2018


  • Wins: 2 Runner-ups: 0, Finals: 2
  • Years won: 1930, 1950


  • Wins: 1 Runner-ups: 0, Finals: 1
  • Years won: 2010


  • Wins: 1 Runner-ups: 0, Finals: 1
  • Years won: 1966


  • Wins: 0 Runner-ups: 3, Finals: 3


  • Wins: 0 Runner-ups: 2, Finals: 2


  • Wins: 0 Runner-ups: 2, Finals: 2


  • Wins: 0 Runner-ups: 1, Finals: 1


  • Wins: 0 Runner-ups: 1, Finals: 1

FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association)

FIFA, established in 1904, is an international body managing association football, beach football and futsal. Its purpose is to oversee international competitions held among the national associations of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

FIFA has its headquarters in Zürich, Switzerland and currently has 211 national associations as its members.


When was the FIFA established?

FIFA was founded in 1904.

Which is the most successful team in FIFA World Cup?


Who won the first FIFA World Cup?


What is the date of 2026 FIFA world cup?

Expected to start in June 2026.

Leave a Comment