Details of Total States and Union Territories in India and their Capital

There are 28 states and 8 Union Territories in India. Andhra State is considered as the first state of the country which was formed on October 1, 1953.

Our country India is often called the union of states. It is so because according to the constitution of India, India will always have a federal form of Government. This federation consists of 28 states and 8 Union Territories. All these states and Union Territories have their capitals for administration purposes. Out of all the states, three states i.e. Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, and Uttarakhand have different capitals for their summer and winter sessions of the legislature.

As students, you should know the complete list of Indian States and capitals so that you can answer general Knowledge questions. Here, we are providing the list of total states and Union Territories in India as of 2024.

Latest: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy on 31 January 2023 said that Visakhapatnam will be the new capital of the state in coming months.

Total Number of States of India as of 2024 with their Capital

The list of Indian states along with their capitals in India is given in the following table.

Find the list of 28 states of India along with their capitals:

Name of the stateCapitalYear of Establishment Former Capital (if any)
Andhra PradeshAmaravati2017Hyderabad (1956 to 2017)
Arunachal PradeshItanagar1987
AssamDispur1972Shillong (1950 to 1972)
GujaratGandhinagar1970Ahmedabad (1960 to 1970)
Himachal PradeshShimla1971
Madhya PradeshBhopal1956
Tamil NaduChennai1956
Uttar PradeshLucknow1950
UttarakhandBhararisen (Summer)


Dehradun (Winter)

West BengalKolkata1950

Union Territories in India and their capitals

Just like states, Union Territories in India also have their capitals. Three Union Territories i.e. Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, and Puducherry have their legislative assembly as well.

Name of the stateCapitalYear of Establishment
Andaman and Nicobar IslandPort Blair1956
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuDaman2020
DelhiNew Delhi1956
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)


Jammu (Winter)

LadakhLeh (Summer)


Kargil (Winter)


Frequently Asked Questions

How many states are in India?

28 states

In which year, the state of Uttarakhand was founded?

Uttarakhand was founded in the year 2000 (9th November). Before that, it was a part of Uttar Pradesh.

Which is the most populous state in India?

The most populous state in India is Uttar Pradesh with around 240 million people.

Which is the most recent state in India?

The most recent state in India is Telangana. It was formed on 2nd June 2014.

Can you provide the list of Indian States with their date and year of Foundation?

The list of states in India along with their dates and years of the foundation is as follows.
Andhra Pradesh – 01 November 1956
Arunachal Pradesh – 20 February 1987
Assam – 2 December 1928
Bihar – 22 March 1912
Chhattisgarh – 1 November 2000
Goa – 30 May 1987
Gujarat – 1 May 1960
Haryana – 1 November 1966
Himachal Pradesh – 15 April 1948
Jharkhand – 15 November 2000
Karnataka – 1 November 1956
Kerala – 1956
Madhya Pradesh – 1956
Maharashtra – 1 May 1960
Manipur –  21 January 1972
Meghalaya – 1971
Mizoram – 20 February 1987
Nagaland – 1 December 1963
Odisha – 1 April 1936
Punjab – 1 November 1966
Rajasthan – 30 March 1949
Sikkim – 16 May 1975
Tamil Nadu – 1 November 1956
Telangana – 2 June 2014
Tripura – 21 January 1972
Uttar Pradesh – 24 January 1950
Uttarakhand – 9 November 2000
West Bengal – 20 June 1947

Categories GK

5 thoughts on “Details of Total States and Union Territories in India and their Capital”

Leave a Comment