List of Chief Ministers of Meghalaya (1970-2023)- First Chief Minister of Meghalaya

Williamson A. Sangma was the first chief minister of Meghalaya served from 2nd April 1970 to 21st January 1972. Let’s uncover the list of all chief ministers of Meghalaya starting from 1970 to 2023.

Conrad Sangma took the oath as the Chief Minister of Meghalaya for the 10th Assembly (2018-23) on March 6, 2018, while Prestone Tynsong sworn-in as the Deputy Chief Ministers of Meghalaya. We are listing below all chief ministers of Meghalaya starting from 1970 to 2023. If you are preparing for any government job exam or Meghalaya Quiz then you should note down the name of chief ministers. 

List of Chief Ministers of Meghalaya (1970-2023)

Check below the list of all CM of Meghalaya for the period 1970-2023:

SL. No Name of CM Period Party
1. Williamson A. Sangma 2 April 1970 to 21 January 1972 All Party Hill Leaders Conference
21 January 1972 to 18 March 1972 All Party Hill Leaders Conference
18 March 1972 to 21 November 1976 All Party Hill Leaders Conference
22 November 1976 to 3 March 1978 Indian National Congress
2. Darwin Diengdoh Pugh 10 March 1978 to 21 February 1979 All Party Hill Leaders Conference
21 February 1979 to 6 May 1979
3. B. B. Lyngdoh 7 May 1979 to 7 May 1981 All Party Hill Leaders Conference
4. Williamson A. Sangma 7 May 1981 to 24 February 1983 Indian National Congress
5. B. B. Lyngdoh 2 March 1983 to 31 March 1983 All Party Hill Leaders Conference
6. Williamson A. Sangma 2 April 1983 to 5 February 1988 Indian National Congress
7. P. A. Sangma 6 February 1988 to 25 March 1990 Indian National Congress
8. B. B. Lyngdoh 26 March 1990 to 10 October 1991 Hill People’s Union
9. D.D. Lapang 5 February 1992 to 19 February 1993 Indian National Congress
10. S. C. Marak 19 February 1993 to 27 February 1998 Indian National Congress
27 February 1998 to 10 March 1998 Indian National Congress
11. B. B. Lyngdoh 10 March 1998 to 8 March 2000 United Democratic Party
12. E. K. Mawlong 8 March 2000 to 8 December 2001 United Democratic Party
13. Flinder Anderson Khonglam 8 December 2001 to 4 March 2003 Independent
14. D. D. Lapang 4 March 2003 to 15 June 2006 Indian National Congress
15. J. D. Rymbai 15 June 2006 tp 10 March 2007 Indian National Congress
16. D. D. Lapang 10 March 2007 to 4 March 2008 Indian National Congress
4 March 2008 to 19 March 2008
17. Donkupar Roy 19 March 2008 to 18 March 2009 United Democratic Party
18. D. D. Lapang 13 May 2009 to 19 April 2010 Indian National Congress
19. Mukul Sangma 20 April 2010 to 5 March 2013 Indian National Congress
5 March 2013 to 6 March 2018
20. Conrad Sangma 6 March 2018 to Incumbent National People’s Party

*We have prepared the table of Chief Ministers of Meghalaya with utmost care. If we have committed certain mistakes then let us know through the comment box below. We’ll verify and update it no time.

GK Questions on Chief Ministers of Meghalaya

Question 1: Who was the first chief minister of Meghalaya?

Answer: Williamson A. Sangma

Question 2: Who is current chief minister of Meghalaya?

Answer: Conrad Sangma from National People’s Party

Question 3: How many members are there in Meghalaya Legislative Assembly?

Answer: 60

Question 4: Who is the speaker of Meghalaya Legislative Assembly?

Answer: Metbah Lyngdoh , UDP

Question 5: Who is the Governor of Meghalaya?

Answer: Phagu Chauhan since 13th Feb 2023

Current Cabinet Ministers of Meghalaya

Shri. Conrad K. Sangma Chief Minister Cabinet Affairs Department, Finance Department, Personnel & A.R. Department, Planning Department, Home (Political) Department, And other portfolios not allotted to any Minister.
Prestone Tynsong Deputy Chief Minister Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Department, Cooperation Department, Food Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs Department, Housing Department, Labour Department, Parliamentary Affairs Department, Public Works Department (Roads)
James Pangsang Kongkal Sangma Cabinet Minister  Forests & Environment Department, Information & Public Relations Department, Law Department, Power Department, Taxation
Alexander Laloo Hek Cabinet Minister Arts & Culture Department, Health & Family Welfare Department, Home (Passport) Department, Home (Prisons) Department
Sniawbhalang Dhar Cabinet Minister Commerce & Industries Department, Transport Department, Urban Affairs Department, Municipal Administration Department
Lahkmen Rymbui Cabinet Minister Border Areas Development Department, District Council Affairs Department, Education Department, Home (Police) Department.
Kyrmen Shylla Cabinet Minister Revenue & Disaster Management Department, Social Welfare Department, Excise
Banteidor Lyngdoh Cabinet Minister Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare Department, Sports & Youth Affairs Department, Textiles Department, Horticulture
Hamletson Dohling Cabinet Minister Community & Rural Development Department, Information Technology and Communication Department, Soil & Water Conservation Department
Brolding Nongsiej Cabinet Minister Home (Civil Defence and Home Guards) Department, Printing & Stationery Department, Water Resources Department
Renikton Lyngdoh Tongkhar Cabinet Minister Legal Metrology Department, Public Health Engineering Department, Secretariat Administration Department
Dasakhiatbha Lamare Cabinet Minister Fisheries Department, General Administration Department, Public Works Department (Buildings)

If you find some sort of errors in this article then please share it through the comment box below. It will help us to maintain accuracy. You can also ask your concern(s), if any, we are here to assist you.

Categories GK

Leave a Comment