List of Chief Ministers of Nagaland (1963-2023)- First Chief Minister of Nagaland

Shilu Ao was the first chief minister of Nagaland served from 1st December 1963 to 14th August 1966. Let’s uncover the list of all chief ministers of Nagaland starting from 1963 to 2023.

Neiphiu Rio took the oath as the Chief Minister of Nagaland for the 13th Assembly (2018-23) on  March 8, 2018, while Yanthungo Patton sworn-in as the Deputy Chief Ministers of Nagaland. We are listing below all chief ministers of Nagaland starting from 1963 to 2023.

List of Chief Ministers of Nagaland (1963-2023)

Those who are preparing for a government job or Nagaland Quiz should try to remember the names of Nagaland Chief Minister. Check below the list of all CM of Nagaland for the period 1963-2023:

SL. No Name of CM Period Party
1. P. Shilu Ao 1 December 1963 to 14 August 1966 Naga Nationalist Organisation
2. T. N. Angami 14 August 1966 to 22 February 1969 Naga Nationalist Organisation
3. Hokishe Sema 22 February 1969 to 26 February 1974 Naga Nationalist Organisation
4. Vizol Angami 26 February 1974 to 10 March 1975 United Democratic Front
5. John Bosco Jasokie 10 March 1975 to 20 March 1975 Naga National Democratic Party
6. Vizol Angami 25 November 1977 to 18 April 1980 United Democratic Front
7. S. C. Jamir 18 April 1980 to 5 June 1980 United Democratic Front Progressive
8. John Bosco Jasokie 5 June 1980 to 18 November 1982 Naga National Democratic Party
9. S. C. Jamir 18 November 1982 to 28 October 1986 United Democratic Front Progressive
10. Hokishe Sema 29 October 1986 to 7 August 1988 Indian National Congress
11. S. C. Jamir 25 January 1989 to 10 May 1990 Indian National Congress
12. K. L. Chishi 16 May 1990 to 19 June 1990 Indian National Congress
13. Vamuzo Phesao 19 June 1990 to 2 April 1992 Nagaland People’s Council
14. S. C. Jamir 22 February 1993 to 6 March 2003 Indian National Congress
15. Neiphiu Rio 6 March 2003 to 3 January 2008 Nagaland People’s Front
12 March 2008 to 24 May 2014
16. T. R. Zeliang 24 May 2014 to 22 February 2017 Nagaland People’s Front
17. Shurhozelie Liezietsu 22 February 2017 to 19 July 2017 Nagaland People’s Front
18. T. R. Zeliang 19 July 2017 to 8 March 2018 Nagaland People’s Front
19. Neiphiu Rio 8 March 2018 to Incumbent Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party

*We have prepared the table of Chief Ministers of Nagaland with utmost care. If we have committed certain mistakes then let us know through the comment box below. We’ll verify and update it no time.

GK Questions on Chief Ministers of Nagaland

Question 1: Who was the first chief minister of Nagaland?

Answer: P. Shilu Ao

Question 2: Who is current chief minister of Nagaland?

Answer: Neiphiu Rio from Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party

Question 3: How many members are there in Nagaland Legislative Assembly?

Answer: 60

Question 4: Who is the speaker of Nagaland Legislative Assembly?

Answer: Sharingain Longkümer, NDPP

Question 5: Who is the Governor of Nagaland?

Answer: La. Ganesan from 15th Feb

Current Cabinet Ministers of Nagaland

Neiphiu Rio Chief Minister  Finance.Administrative and Personnel Reforms.

Policy issues.

Other departments not allocated to a Minister.

Y Patton  Deputy Chief Minister  Home.

Road and Bridges.

Pangyu Phom Cabinet Minister  Health and Family welfare.
P. Paiwang Konyak Cabinet Minister  Transport.

Civil Aviation & Railways.

Land resources.

Jacob Zhimomi Cabinet Minister  Public health engineering.
Kashiho Sangtham Cabinet Minister  Soil & Water conservation.

Women & Child development.

Temjen Imma Along Cabinet Minister Higher education.

Technical education.

Neiba Kronu Cabinet Minister  Planning & Co-ordination.

Land revenue.

Metsubo Jamir Cabinet Minister  Urban development.

Municipal affairs.

G. Kaito Aye Cabinet Minister  Agriculture.


Tongpang Ozukum Cabinet Minister  Public Works Department.

If you find some sort of errors in this article then please share it through the comment box below. It will help us to maintain accuracy. You can also ask your concern(s), if any, we are here to assist you.

Categories GK

Leave a Comment