IPL Orange Cap Winners List (From 2008 to 2023)

Since its inception in 2008, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been one of the most popular and widely followed cricket tournaments in the world. And when it comes to individual performance, the orange cap is the ultimate symbol of batting excellence in the IPL. Over the years, some of the world’s greatest batsmen have won the orange cap, with each season bringing new heroes and unforgettable performances.

From the early years dominated by the likes of Shaun Marsh and Matthew Hayden, to the recent successes of KL Rahul and Ruturaj Gaikwad, the IPL orange cap is a coveted prize that every batsman dreams of winning. In this article, we take a look back at the IPL orange cap winners list from 2008 to 2023, celebrating the batsmen who have left their mark on this iconic tournament.

List of IPL Orange Cap Winners from 2008 to 2023

S. No.Name of the playerYear
1Shaun Marsh2008
2Matthew Hayden2009
3Sachin Tendulkar2010
4Chris Gayle2011
5Chris Gayle2012
6Michael Hussey2013
7Robin Uthappa2014
8David Warner2015
9Virat Kohli2016
10David Warner2017
11Kane Williamson2018
12David Warner2019
13KL Rahul2020
14Ruturaj Gaikwad2021
15Jos Buttler2022
16Faf Du Plesis (Tournament is still going on)2023

Details of all Previous Orange Cap Winners in IPL from 2008 to 2023

Shaun Marsh – 2008 for Kings XI Punjab

Shaun Marsh was the winner of the IPL 2008 Orange Cap. He played for the Kings XI Punjab team and scored a total of 616 runs in 11 matches, with an average of 68.44. Marsh’s highest score in the tournament was 115 not out, which he achieved in a match against the Rajasthan Royals.

Marsh’s performance in the IPL 2008 was exceptional, and he played a crucial role in helping the Kings XI Punjab reach the semi-finals of the tournament.

Check: Top 10 cricketers with the most centuries in IPL

Matthew Hayden – 2009 for Chennai Super Kings

Matthew Hayden, the former Australian cricketer, won the Orange Cap at the Indian Premier League in 2009. He was a part of the Chennai Super Kings team and scored a total of 572 runs in 12 innings, with an average of 52.00 and a strike rate of 144.81. Hayden’s performances were crucial to Chennai’s success that season.

Sachin Tendulkar – 2010 for Mumbai Indians

Sachin Tendulkar, the legendary Indian cricketer, won the Orange Cap award in the 2010 Indian Premier League. Tendulkar, who was the captain of the Mumbai Indians team, put up a phenomenal performance throughout the tournament, scoring a total of 618 runs in just 15 matches.

His performance was a testament to his outstanding talent and dedication to cricket. He cemented his legacy as one of the greatest cricketers of all time.

Chris Gayle – 2011 and 2012 for Royal Challengers Bangalore

Chris Gayle, the hard-hitting West Indian batsman, made headlines in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2011 and 2012 seasons by winning the Orange Cap. He was in outstanding form throughout the tournament, smashing bowlers all around the park with ease.

His aggressive batting style and power-hitting made him a fan favourite, and his performances were instrumental in his team’s success.

Michael Hussey – 2013 for Chennai Super Kings

Michael Hussey, also known as Mr. Cricket, was one of the brightest stars of the IPL in 2013. The Australian batsman played for the Chennai Super Kings that season and put up some impressive performances throughout the tournament. With 733 runs in 17 matches, he finished the season as the top run-scorer and earned the Orange Cap. Hussey’s consistency and ability to score runs in both home and away matches made him a valuable batter for the Chennai Super Kings that season.

Robin Uthappa – 2014 for Kolkata Knight Riders

Robin Uthappa was one of the standout players of IPL 2014 earning the Orange Cap for his incredible performance throughout the tournament. Playing for the Kolkata Knight Riders, Uthappa scored a total of 660 runs in 16 matches with an impressive average.

Uthappa’s consistent performance and excellent batting skills made him a sensation in the tournament and solidified his place as one of the top players in the league.

Check IPL Winners from 20208-2023

David Warner – 2015, 2017, and 2019 for Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner is one of the most successful batsmen in the history of the IPL. He has won the Orange Cap for the highest run-scorer in the tournament three times, in 2015, 2017, and 2019.

Warner is known for his explosive batting style and his ability to score runs quickly. Domination of Warner in the IPL shows no signs of slowing down, and fans can’t wait to see what he’ll do next.

Virat Kohli – 2016 for Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli was an unstoppable force in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2016 season leading his team Royal Challengers Bangalore to the playoffs. Kohli not only captained the team but also dominated with his batting performances earning him the orange cap award for the season. He scored a staggering 973 runs in just 16 matches including four centuries.

Kane Williamson – 2018 for Sunrisers Hyderabad

Kane Williamson, the New Zealand cricketer, has been a consistent performer in the Indian Premier League. In 2018, he won the orange cap for scoring the most number of runs. Williamson’s elegant strokeplay and ability to anchor the innings make him a valuable cricketer for any team.

After playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad in multiple seasons, he was bought by Gujarat Titans.

KL Rahul – 2020 for Kings XI Punjab

KL Rahul, the current captain of Lucknow Super Giants has won the 2020 IPL Orange Cap. Rahul’s outstanding performance throughout the season earned him a total of 670 runs making him the clear winner of the prestigious award. Rahul’s exceptional batting skills were on full display during the tournament as he consistently scored runs in almost every match.

Ruturaj Gaikwad – 2021 for Chennai Super Kings

Ruturaj Gaikwad emerged as the winner of the IPL 2021 Orange Cap. He played for the Chennai Super Kings and scored a total of 635 runs in 16 matches. Gaikwad’s highest score in the tournament was 101 not out.

Gaikwad’s performance in the IPL 2021 was exceptional. He played a crucial role in the Chennai Super Kings’ journey to the playoffs. His consistency with the bat was commendable, and he proved to be a valuable player for the team.

Jos Buttler – 2022 for Rajasthan Royals

Jos Buttler was the winner of the IPL 2022 Orange Cap. The English cricketer played for the Rajasthan Royals and scored a total of 863 runs in 17 matches. Buttler’s performance in the IPL 2022 was outstanding. He played a crucial role in helping the Rajasthan Royals reach the final.

See: Best IPL Batsman All Time

Faf du Plessis – 2023 (Tournament is still being played)

Faf du Plessis, the South African cricketer, is currently leading the run-scoring charts in the ongoing IPL 2023 tournament. Known for his consistency and technical prowess, du Plessis has been in fine form throughout the competition, scoring runs at an impressive strike rate. His performances have been crucial in helping his team secure important victories and climb up the league table.

Frequently Asked Questions

Question – 1: When was the IPL Orange Cap introduced?

Answer: The IPL Orange Cap was introduced in the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008.

Question – 2: Who was the first player to win the IPL Orange Cap?

Answer: Australian batsman Shaun Marsh was the first player to win the IPL Orange Cap in 2008.

Question – 3: Who has won the IPL Orange Cap the most times?

Answer: As of 2023, David Warner has won the IPL Orange Cap the most times with three victories (in 2015, 2017, and 2019).

Question – 4: Who has scored the most runs in a single IPL season?

Answer: Virat Kohli holds the record for scoring the most runs in a single IPL season with 973 runs in the 2016 edition of the tournament.

Leave a Comment