List of Arjuna Awardees in 2024

26 sportspersons received the Arjuna Award on January 9, 2024 from Droupadi Murmu, the President of India. The list features notable names from various sports, with a strong emphasis on those who excelled at the 2023 Asian Games and World Cup:

The Arjuna Award, officially recognized as the Arjuna Awards for Outstanding Performance in Sports and Games, stands as the second-highest sporting honor in India, following closely behind the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award. It serves as a prestigious acknowledgment reserved for athletes who consistently showcase exceptional skill, dedication, and accomplishments on the international stage.

Key facets of the Arjuna Award:

  1. Establishment and Name:
    • Established in 1961, the award derives its name from Arjuna, the legendary archer in the Hindu epic Mahabharata, renowned for his unwavering dedication and remarkable skill.
  2. Recipients and Sports:
    • The award is granted to individual athletes participating in various sports, ranging from archery and badminton to cricket, boxing, and beyond.
  3. Selection Criteria:
    • Athletes are selected based on their consistent high performance at the international level for a minimum of four years.
    • The selection process also takes into account qualities such as sportsmanship, leadership, and discipline.
  4. Awards and Recognition:
    • Recipients of the Arjuna Award receive a bronze statuette of Arjuna, a certificate, ceremonial attire, and a cash prize amounting to ₹15 lakh (approximately US$19,000).
  5. Significance:
    • The award holds paramount importance as it:
      • Recognizes and celebrates sporting excellence within the Indian context.
      • Serves as a source of motivation and inspiration for budding athletes nationwide.
      • Contributes significantly to the overall development and promotion of sports across the country.

Indian Sports Persons and Athletes

Arjuna Award Winners in 2024

NameSport Name
Ojas Pravin DeotaleArchery
Aditi Gopichand SwamiArchery
Murali SreeshankarAthletics
Parul ChaudharyAthletics
Mohameed HussamuddinBoxing
R VaishaliChess
Mohammed ShamiCricket
Anush AgarwallaEquestrian
Diksha DagarGolf
Krishan Bahadur PathakHockey
Sushila ChanuHockey
Pawan KumarKabaddi
Ritu NegiKabaddi
PinkiLawn Bowls
Aishwary Pratap Singh TomarShooting
Esha SinghShooting
Harinder Pal Singh SandhuSquash
Ayhika MukherjeeTable Tennis
Sunil KumarWrestling
Sports Cups and Trophies List including both National and International
The Arjuna Award, through its distinguished recipients, forms a collective narrative of athletes who have not only achieved personal success but have also brought immense pride and glory to the nation. Their stories, marked by unwavering dedication, resilience, and triumphant moments, continue to serve as a beacon of inspiration for millions of aspiring athletes across India.

Frequently Asked Questions about the Arjuna Award:

What is the Arjuna Award?

The Arjuna Award stands as India’s second-highest sporting honor, recognizing athletes for their exceptional international achievements.

Who is the award named after?

Named after Arjuna, the legendary archer from the Hindu epic Mahabharata, renowned for dedication and skill.

When was the award established?

Established in 1961.

What sports are eligible for the award?

Athletes from a diverse range of sports, including archery, badminton, basketball, boxing, cricket, football, hockey, kabaddi, shooting, table tennis, wrestling, and more, can be nominated.

When is the award ceremony held in 2024?

Typically on National Sports Day, January 29th.

Categories GK

Leave a Comment