List of Chief Ministers of Punjab (1947-2023): First Female CM of Punjab, First Chief Minister of Punjab

Gopi Chand Bhargava was the first chief minister of Punjab served from 15th August 1947 to 13th April 1949. Rajinder Kaur Bhattal was the first female chief minister of Punjab. Let’s uncover the list of all chief ministers of Punjab starting from 1947 to 2023.

Bhagwant Mann took the oath as new chief minister of Punjab on 16th March 2022. We are listing below all chief ministers of Punjab starting from 1947 to 2023.

List of Chief Ministers of Punjab (1947-2023)

Check below the list of all CM of Punjab for the period 1947-2023:

SL. NoName of CMPeriod Party
1.Gopi Chand Bhargava15 August 1947 to 13 April 1949Indian National Congress
2.Bhim Sen Sachar13 April 1949 to 18 October 1949Indian National Congress
3.Gopi Chand Bhargava18 October 1949 to 20 June 1951Indian National Congress
4.Bhim Sen Sachar17 April 1952 to 22 July 1953Indian National Congress
22 July 1953 to 23 January 1956
5.Partap Singh Kairon23 January 1956 to 9 April 1957Indian National Congress
9 April 1957 to 11 March 1962
11 March 1962 to 21 June 1964
6.Gopi Chand Bhargava21 June 1964 to 6 July 1964Indian National Congress
7.Ram Kishan7 July 1964 to 5 July 1966Indian National Congress
8.Giani Gurmukh Singh Musafir1 November 1966 to 8 March 1967Indian National Congress
9.Gurnam Singh8 March 1967 to 25 November 1967Akali Dal – Sant Fateh Singh


10.Lachhman Singh Gill25 November 1967 to 23 August 1968Punjab Janta Party


11.Gurnam Singh17 February 1969 to 27 March 1970Shiromani Akali Dal


12.Parkash Singh Badal27 March 1970 to 14 June 1971Shiromani Akali Dal


13.Giani Zail Singh17 March 1972 to 30 April 1977Indian National Congress
14.Parkash Singh Badal20 June 1977 to 17 February 1980Shiromani Akali Dal


15.Darbara Singh6 June 1980 to 6 October 1983Indian National Congress (Indira
16.Surjit Singh Barnala29 September 1985 to 11 June 1987Shiromani Akali Dal
17.Beant Singh25 February 1992 to 31 August 1995Indian National Congress (Indira)
18.Harcharan Singh Brar31 August 1995 to 21 November 1996Indian National Congress (Indira)
19.Rajinder Kaur Bhattal21 November 1996 to 11 February 1997Indian National Congress (Indira)
20.Parkash Singh Badal12 February 1997 to 26 February 2002Shiromani Akali Dal


21.Amarinder Singh26 February 2002 to 1 March 2007Indian National Congress
22.Parkash Singh Badal1 March 2007 to 14 March 2012Shiromani Akali Dal


14 March 2012 to 16 March 2017
23.Amarinder Singh16 March 2017 18th September 2021Indian National Congress
24.Charanjit Singh Channi20th September 2021 to 16th March 2022Indian National Congress
24.Bhagwant Mann16th March 2022 to ——Aam Aadmi Party

*We have prepared the table of Chief Ministers of Punjab with utmost care. If we have committed certain mistakes then let us know through the comment box below. We’ll verify and update it no time.

GK Questions on Chief Ministers of Punjab

Question 1: Who was the first chief minister of Punjab?

Answer: Gopi Chand Bhargava

Question 2: Who was the first female chief minister of Punjab?

Answer: Rajinder Kaur Bhattal

Question 3: Who is current chief minister of Punjab?

Answer: Bhagwant Mann from Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Question 4: How many members are there in Punjab Legislative Assembly?

Answer: 117

Question 5: Who is the speaker of Punjab Legislative Assembly?

Answer: Kultar Singh Sandhwan

Question 6: Who is the Governor of Punjab?

Answer: Banwarilal Purohit

Government of Punjab

Bhagwant MannChief Minister
Shri. Banwarilal PurohitGovernor of Punjab
Kultar Singh SandhwanSpeaker

If you find some sort of errors in this article then please share it through the comment box below. It will help us to maintain accuracy. You can also ask your concern(s), if any, we are here to assist you.

Categories GK

Leave a Comment