Vice President of India (1950-2023): Check Names, and Tenure of All Vice-Presidents of India Since Independence

It has been an incredible 73 years since India’s first Vice-President was elected in 1950. Since then, India has seen a number of Vice-Presidents come and go, each leaving an indelible mark on the nation’s history.

From the first Vice-President’s efforts to promote democracy to the current Vice-President’s focus on rural development and poverty alleviation, all Vice-Presidents of India from 1950 to 2023 have been instrumental in shaping the nation’s future.

If you are a student then it is a smart idea to take note of the list of all vice presidents of India. Questions from this topic are often asked in exams like SSC CGL, CHSL, Railways, Banking, etc.

List of All Vice Presidents of India from 1950 to 2023

The post of Vice-president is added to the Indian Constitution from the constitution of the United States of America (USA). Here is the Vice-President of India list from 1950 to 2023.

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan13 May 1952 to 13 May 1957Rajendra Prasad
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (2nd Term)13 May 1957 to 12 May 1962Rajendra Prasad
Zakir Hussain13 May 1962 to 12 May 1967Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
Varahagiri Venkata Giri13 May 1967 to 3 May 1969Zakir Hussain
Gopal Swarup Pathak31 August 1969 to 30 August 1974Varahagiri Venkata Giri and Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
B.D. Jatti31 August 1974 to 30 August 1979Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed and Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
M. Hidayatullah31 August 1979 to 30 August 1984Neelam Sanjiva Reddy and Giani Zail Singh
R. Venkataraman31 August 1984 to 24 July 1987Giani Zail Singh
Shankar Dayal Sharma3 September 1987 to 24 July 1992R. Venkataraman
K.R. Narayanan21 August 1992 to 24 July 1997Shanker Dayal Sharma
Krishna Kant21 August 1997 to 27 July 2002K.R. Narayanan and A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat19 August 2002 to 21 July 2007A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
M. Hamid Ansari11 August 2007 to 10 August 2012Pratibha Devisingh Patil and Pranab Mukherjee
M. Hamid Ansari11 August 2012 to 10 August 2017Pranab Mukherjee and Ram Nath Kovind
M. Venkaiah Naidu11 August 2017 to 10 August 2022Ram Nath Kovind and Droupadi Murmu
Jagdeep Dhankhar11 August 2022 to IncumbentDroupadi Murmu

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan – First Vice-President of India

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was an Indian philosopher, academic, and politician. He was the first Vice-President of India (1952–1962) and the second President of India (1962–1967). The birthday of Radhakrishnan is celebrated in India every year as Teachers’ Day. 

He is known for his exemplary work in the fields of philosophy, education, and education policy reforms. He was instrumental in introducing young Indians to the western philosophical tradition. Thus, making it easier for them to gain knowledge and in turn, become better citizens.

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was a great leader and remains an inspiration for many even to this day. His contribution towards the betterment of Indian society and education is remarkable. He was awarded the Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian award in 1954.

Also Check List of all home Ministers of India

Jagdeep Dhankhar – Current Vice-President of India

Jagdeep Dhankhar is the current Vice-President of India, who took office on 11th August 2022. He previously served as the Governor of West Bengal. Dhankhar was born in a Hindu Jat family in Rajasthan.

He is known for his unwavering commitment to social justice, a quality that has made him a beloved figure among the masses. He regularly interacts with the public and listens to their needs, addressing them in his speeches.

Jagdeep Dhankhar joined BJP in 2003 and was the head of BJP’s law and legal affairs department. He beat Margaret Alva of the Indian National Congress to win the Indian Vice-Presidential Election in 2022.

Eligibility for Vice-President of India

A candidate should meet the following criteria to contest for the post of Vice-President of India.

  • He/ She must be a citizen of India
  • The age of the candidate should not be less than 35 years.
  • He/ She must be eligible for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • He/ She should not be a member of the Rajya Sabha at the time of the Indian Vice-Presidential Election.
  • The candidate should not hold any office of profit under the union government or state government in India.

Vice President of India List in Hindi (1950 to 2023)

1950 से 2023 तक भारत के उपराष्ट्रपतियों की सूची नीचे दी गई है

  • सर्वपल्ली राधाकृष्णन – 13 मई 1952 से 13 मई 1957 तक
  • सर्वपल्ली राधाकृष्णन (दूसरा कार्यकाल) – 13 मई 1957 से 12 मई 1962 तक
  • जाकिर हुसैन – 13 मई 1962 से 12 मई 1967 तक
  • वराहगिरी वेंकट गिरी – 13 मई 1967 से 3 मई 1969 तक
  • गोपाल स्वरूप पाठक – 31 अगस्त 1969 से 30 अगस्त 1974 तक
  • बी.डी. जत्ती – 31 अगस्त 1974 से 30 अगस्त 1979 तक
  • एम हिदायतुल्लाह – 31 अगस्त 1979 से 30 अगस्त 1984 तक
  • आर वेंकटरमन – 31 अगस्त 1984 से 24 जुलाई 1987 तक
  • शंकर दयाल शर्मा – 3 सितंबर 1987 से 24 जुलाई 1992 तक
  • के.आर. नारायणन – 21 अगस्त 1992 से 24 जुलाई 1997 तक
  • कृष्ण कांत – 21 अगस्त 1997 से 27 जुलाई 2002 तक
  • भैरोंसिंह शेखावत – 19 अगस्त 2002 से 21 जुलाई 2007 तक
  • एम हामिद अंसारी – 11 अगस्त 2007 से 10 अगस्त 2012
  • एम हामिद अंसारी (दूसरा कार्यकाल) – 11 अगस्त 2012 से 10 अगस्त 2017
  • एम वेंकैया नायडू – 11 अगस्त 2017 से 10 अगस्त 2022 तक
  • जगदीप धनखड़ – 11 अगस्त 2022 से अब तक

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is the chairman of Rajya Sabha?

Vice-President of India

Who is the first women vice-president of India?

India never had a women vice-president.

How do we celebrate the birthday of Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, the First Vice-President of India?

By observing Teacher’s day.

What is the term of a vice president in India?

5 Years. However, he can continue to serve even after 5 years until his successor assumes office. 

Which article of the constitution states that there shall be a vice-president of India?

Article 63.

Categories GK

Leave a Comment