Dry Days in India 2023: Know the Full List of All No-liquor Days

In our country India, Liquor is enjoyed by people in most States. Those who drink regularly might know what a dry day is. In case, you don’t know please note that it is illegal to sell or deliver Alcohol on a dry day. There are many Dry Days in 2023 that you should know if you buy liquor regularly.

Generally, dry days in India are observed on national holidays. However, many states also have their own rules for observing these days. In today’s post, we are going to share complete information on Dry Days in India in 2023.

List of Dry Days in India 2023

Let’s go through the general list of dry days in India in different months. For future references we recommend you download Dry Days in India PDF.

Dry Days in January 2023
14th January SundayMakar Sankranti
26th January FridayRepublic Day
30th January TuesdayShaheed Diwas
Dry Days in February 2023
15th February WednesdaySwami Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti
18thFebruary SaturdayMaha shivratri
19thFebruary SundayChhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti
Dry Day in March 2023
8th March WednesdayHoli
30th March ThursdayRama Navami
Dry Days in April 2023
4th April TuesdayMahavir Jayanti
7th April FridayGood Friday
14th April FridayAmbedkar Jayanti
22nd April SaturdayEid al-Fitr
Dry Days in May 2023
 There is no dry day in May. 
Dry Days in June 2023
29th June ThursdayAshadi Ekadashi
Dry Days in July 2023
3rd July MondayGuru Purnima
28th July FridayMuharram
Dry Days in August 2023
15th August TuesdayIndependence day
Dry Days in September 2023
6th and 7th September Wednesday and ThursdayJanmashtami
19th September SaturdayGanesh Chaturthi
28th September ThursdayAnant Chaturdashi
Dry Days in October 2023
2nd October MondayGandhi Jayanti
24th October TuesdayDussehra
28th October SaturdayMaharishi Valmiki Jayanti
Dry Days in November 2023
12th November SundayDiwali
23rd November ThursdayKartiki Ekadashi
27th November MondayGuru Nanak Jayanti
Dry Days in December 2023
25th December MondayChristmas

List of Dry Days in Different States of India

Not all states in India follow the same policy for Dry Days. In fact, almost every state has its own policy for observing dry days. Generally, it depends upon the tradition and culture of a particular state. Let’s have a look at dry days in different states in India.

Dry Days in Andaman and Nicobar Island

  • You will not be able to buy Alcohol on the 7th date of every month as per the alcohol policy of UT.
  • In addition to this, liquor shops will also remain closed on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of every month.
  • Dry Days will also be observed on the National Holidays.
    • 26th January – Friday, Republic Day15th August – Tuesday, Independence Day
    • 2nd October – Monday, Gandhi Jayanti

Dry Days in Delhi

  • Every year, the government of Delhi releases its excise calendar on 1st July.
  • The dry days will always be the following days.
    • 26th January – Friday, Republic Day15th August – Tuesday, Independence Day
    • 2nd October – Monday, Gandhi Jayanti

Dry Days in Jammu

  • In Jammu, the dry day is observed on all national holidays. Apart from the national holidays, the shops will remain closed on the following days.
    • MahaShivratri – 18th February, SaturdayRam Navami –  30th March, ThursdayKrishna Janmashtami – 6th and 7th September, Wednesday and Thursday
    • Guru Nanak Jayanti –  30th November

Dry Days in Kashmir

  • Kashmir has a different policy regarding dry days from Jammu. The dry days are observed on the following days apart from the national holidays.
    • MahaShivratri – 18th February, SaturdayEid-Ul-Fitr – 21st and 22nd April, Friday and SaturdayEid-Al-Adha – 28th and 29th June, Wednesday and ThursdayKrishna Janmashtami – 6th and 7th September, Wednesday and Thursday
    • Eid-Ul-Milad – 26th and 27th September, Tuesday and Wednesday (Dates may vary)

Dry Days in Karnataka

  • The dry days in Karnataka are observed on the following days
    • 2nd October – Gandhi Jayanti26th January – Republic Day
    • 6th September – NandwaniJayanti

Dry Days in Kerala

  • According to the latest updates, Sundays are no longer dry days in Kerala.
  • The government also observes dry days on the 1st day of the English Calendar every month. It is so because it is the salary day in most organizations.
  • There are dry days in Kerala on the day of polling and the previous day.
  • In addition to the dates mentioned above, there are dry days in the state on the following dates.
    • 1st January – New Year Day26th January – Republic Day15th August – Independence Day29th September – SreeNarayana Guru Jayanti20th September – SreeNarayana Guru Jayanti
    • 2nd October – Gandhi Jayanti

Dry Days in Maharashtra

  • In Maharashtra, the district collector has the power to designate any day as a Prohibited day by giving seven days’ notice.
  • The following days always remain dry days in the state.
    • 26th January – Republic Day30th January – Martyr’s Day1st May – Maharashtra Day29th June – AshadiEkadashi15th August– Independence Day28th September – AnantChaturdashi2nd October to 9th October – Gandhi Week
    • 23rd November – KartikiEkadashi

Dry Days in Rajasthan

  • Republic Day – 26th January
  • Martyrs’ Day – 30th January
  • MahaShivaratri – 18th February
  • MahavirJanmaKalyanak – 4th April
  • Rajasthan Formation Day – 30th March
  • Independence Day – 15th August
  • Gandhi Jayanti – 2nd October
  • Harijan Day – 30th October

Dry Days in Tamil Nadu

  • Thiruvalluvar Day – 16th January
  • Republic Day – 26th January
  • VadalurRamalingaAdikalarJothi – 31st March  
  • MahaShivaratri – 18th February
  • May Day – 1st May
  • Independence Day – 15th August
  • Gandhi Jayanti – 2nd October
  • Eid al-Mawlid (Milad-un-Nabi) – 27th September

Dry Days in West Bengal

  • MakarSankranti – 14th January
  • Republic Day – 26th January
  • MahaShivratri – 18th February
  • Holi – 8th March
  • Ram Navami – 30th March
  • MahavirJanmaKalyanak – 4th April
  • Eid-Ul-Fitr – 22nd April
  • Eid al-Adha – 28th and 29th June
  • Independence Day – 15th August
  • RakshaBandhan – 30th August
  • Janmashtami – 6th and 7th September
  • Ganesh Chaturthi – 19th September
  • Muharram – 19th July
  • Gandhi Jayanti – 2nd October
  • Dussehra – 24th October
  • Diwali – 12th November
  • Eid-Ul-Milad–26th and 27th September
  • Christmas – 25th December

Note – Please note the consumption of Alcohol is completely banned in the following states and UT – Bihar, Gujarat, Nagaland, Mizoram, and Lakshadweep. There is also a partial ban on the same in a few districts of Manipur.

Spread the Knowledge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *